On the road to recovery

 

The Ortho Gods have given me a clean bill of health as far as a week of post/op recovery goes.  He said my leg looks great. No infection, beautiful (no, really, they’re awesome and clean) incisions. I’m in my fashionable hinged brace, but I’m on 0 degree so no bending yet. The Brace Man even zip tied it so I wouldn’t be sneaky (not that I would)! Stitches are out. Swelling is in an acceptable range. Full weight bearing! PT starts Monday.

He wants me to go slow because my leg was apparently really torn up inside…hence the VMO advancement. He said I need a bit more time to heal immobilized before he seriously starts working me in PT. In the mean time I’m doing basic quad exercises, ankle pumps, the general at home PT that anyone who has been through this knows how to do with our eyes closed. I’ve got about 30 degrees ROM (bend your knee so it’s about 4inches from the bed. that’s as far as I can physically go) straight out of surgery, no PT, which he’s happy about but doesn’t want me to push right now. We both think that’s because of how hard I worked in PT before the surgery. Lifting my leg is hard (as it was before surgery, my quads are a nightmare), but tolerable. I can lift about foot off the bed easily but beyond that is work. Pain is manageable right now. It’s worst when I first wake up in the morning, but once I get up and move around I feel a lot better.

Overall, I’m doing good. There are moments where I’m so tired that I have no choice but to sleep. I had no clue I’d be this exhausted all the time. Man, did it feel good to get out of the house, though. Walking peg-legged is exhausting too. But I’d do it any day over crutches.

Oh, I should report that the stairs were a success. SO easy compared to the day I came home with the femoral nerve block and had to hop up every step (ugh.) My aunt was shocked at how "quick" I went…although I feel like I’m moving at a snail’s pace now.

I’m excited to start PT and get my life on the move again. I’m not one for sitting around idly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note