Stuff & The Chronicles of The Knee [with photos]**

 

So, I’m headed to Rochester this weekend. I get to see The Boy after almost 2 months. The last I saw him was January 3rd. I’m excited! I miss him so very much. He’s in Utah doing a project with AmeriCorps and the only reason why he’ll be in the area is for interview day at the UofR for his PhD program. He’s already been accepted but they want him to come and talk to some of the professors and see the lab. After that he has the whole weekend to spend with me and visit with some friends. Then, on March 18th I get to fly out to Utah and see him and meet his team. I’m excited…it’s gonna suck a bit because of the knee surgery but I’ll manage!

I hit a huge physical therapy milestone on Monday: FULL RANGE OF MOTION! This is so exciting. I celebrated by doing 1.5 miles on the bike. It took me 10 minutes but damn it I did it! I’ve been photo documenting my lovely journey over the past month. I wish I had gotten some more post-op photos…the one that I has really doesn’t do the knee justice in the first few weeks. It went from the first photo to this nasty black and blue that no one ever got to see besides me and my family. But I assure you: gross! 

I had the surgery on January 13th. Janaury 16th was my first time seeing the knee. February 8th is roughly a week and a half after my first PT appointment. February 10th was…a very bad day. It was the worst swelling I have had. It was after a day of classes that started at 9am and lasted until 10pm.

The knee hasn’t changed much in the last week so there’s not much more to show. It’s still really puffy but considering what its looked liked along the way it’s looking pretty damn good right now.

That’s all for today…just wanted to update and I didn’t know when I’d have time again. Last semester of college on top of physical therapy is sort of kicking my ass.

Adios.

***Edit***

I definitely just realized that I managed to spell "February" three different ways in my lovely photo. And I’m leaving it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 25, 2010

F E B R U A R Y