Magazines

I started playing my first MMO last Christmas. I have been working 40 hours a week online from home.since March. Both of these had a steep learning curve for me and require a lot of screen time and a lot of focus. I have managed to keep my head above water in both, but that’s not comfortable. Other activities I enjoy online are genealogy and self-reflection (the reason I am here at OD).

All of this time online has taken a toll on my motivation to do stuff offline. I struggle to read a book through. I have been pushing myself to go to the library and check out a couple of books – their curbside service is nice. I am making my way slowly through a mystery novel now. Needle crafts that used to be so relaxing are now a struggle to finish or even get started. I bought a new sewing table for my sewing machine. It sits right in front of the window like I hoped for. But I have barely touched it. Gardening, same story.

This is where the magazines have shown up. Somehow I got to reminiscing about my mother-in-law who loved cooking, gardening and needle craft – she always had a stack of magazines on the coffee table. She would share something new she had found and often actually tried things out! I was more of an onlooker. She had her faults, but she was a lot of fun too. I used to treat myself when I went grocery shopping to a new Woman’s Day or Family Circle. The holiday issues were my favorite.  Later on I subscribed to Victoria magazine – such beauty.

So I recently subscribed to 3 “test” magazines – Better Homes and Gardens, Woman’s Day and Good Housekeeping. They are not perfect, but I have to admit it is very relaxing to just sit and look at the pictures and read bits here and there. It quiets my mind but has also got me thinking about doing things again. I added Victoria to my wish list for Christmas as it is a little more pricey. Hard to believe it is still around. I will be on the lookout for other magazines that I might enjoy.

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2020

I haven’t received or even looked at a magazine in years, but I do remember how much fun it was when one arrived in the mail. Curling up somewhere and flipping through pages was always relaxing, as you say. Remember McCall’s magazine? My Mom got that. It had a paperdoll, Betsy, with an outfit or two to cut out in the back.

October 7, 2020

@chalandra Yep – I do recall McCall’s – and the paper doll. I think they had clothes to cut out in the magazines. Saturday Evening Post.
I have not explored magazine in quite a while as well. I am not really sure what I am looking for or where I am headed. I think the everydayness of the topics appeal to me. I just want to explore something that is pretty and helpful. I have definitely enjoyed looking through the last two I have received. I even turned down a few corners. It’s tactile.

I am weary of what is on the news and even things that are good – women’s rights, racial/gender/etc equality, politics, climate and energy issues – I am burned out.

 

October 7, 2020

@duskvigil I bought a jigsaw puzzle for the same reason. It’s an old fashioned tactile activity that doesn’t require a great deal of thinking, but does demand attention to detail. It’s a good distraction.