words to live by

I used to actively try to be a happy, optimistic person.  I used to actively try to be a GOOD person.  But somewhere along the way, I fell into the easy pattern of complaining, pessimistic outlooks, a quick temper, and general depression when things weren’t going well.

In effort to go back to being a better person, I’m going to start saving more positive quotes on Pinterest and writing about some of them here.  Even if I never go back and look through this diary at the quotes I post, just posting them and actively thinking about them while I write this entry will hopefully help in the overall goal.  

Here’s today’s quote:

People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.
If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.
If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.
In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.

This is particularly helpful to me today.

site meter

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2013

Thanks for writing this. It’s exactly what I needed to hear today! Too often I start to feel sorry for myself..why do I give more than I get, why am I the only who calls, when will someone notice. The only thing I know to do is to keep going and do it for myself, not for them.

January 28, 2013

That’s a great quote to start off with. 🙂

So true!

YES ♥! I have a whole board just for quotes and links I love & that inspire me, too; it’s a good place to go when life is glaring.

ryn;; 1. Do you have an iPhone? Go to Settings > General > Keyboard > Keyboards, and unlock the emoji keyboard! It’ll come up in your regular keyboard under the little globe icon, beside your space bar, and then you can insert TONS of cute little graphics anywhere your little heart desires! (It usually doesn’t translate except to other iPhones though, p.s.) 3. JC Penney, of all places!They’re a super-weird material but the shade is perfection.

aww, thanks 🙂 And we found NOTHING at the outlets. It took 4 stores just to find a bathing suit for Chloe. I was so disappointed! There is a north face outlet down there now though, that was exciting. Maybe we just went before the summer stuff is fully out. There was a lot of clearance winter stuff but I wasn’t interested in that. Jcrew didn’t even have my size flip flops!

omg he hasn’t changed at all!!! We had some good times at brobs and house sitting for him. Can’t believe it was so long ago now

I was thinking about it the other day, how much fun it was when we were all working there in the beginning. Can’t believe that as almost 10 years ago. Holy shit I feel old. It was a shit show once Ralph took over but even then it was fine bc I did whatever I wanted and gave myself all the hours. hahaha I don’t think I’ll ever forget how he used to lick the icing spatula and then keep onusing it. omg

(mr rob, not ralph)