decorating woes

While we’re not living in the house, I’m trying to make as much progress as I can in terms of redecorating.  We’re taking this "opportunity" to change a few things we didn’t like about the house before but weren’t worth changing before, such as paint colors.  And we need pretty much all new furniture, so that combined with new paint colors basically means I’m now redesigning the entire house.  And there are SO. MANY. CHOICES.

Current choices:

Paint Colors
 vs 

The office might be turned into a nursery in the next year or two, so I know I want gray or yellow.  I prefer a gray nursery, but there’s always the option of painting it gray when we transition if we went with yellow for now.  

The bathroom will be Gossamer Blue and the kitchen will be beige no matter what.  It’s really a matter of will the living room be green?  That dry sage is a soft, brownish green.  If it’s not green, it’ll be beige.  And if it’s beige, then the master can’t be beige too, so it has to be gray, which means the office would then become yellow.  Follow all of that?  Okay, great.

Bed
 vs 

Bill and I both love dark wood furniture, but I’m hesitant to put a dark bed, a dark dresser, and two dark nightstands in our tiny 11’x11′ bedroom.  Especially if we go with gray walls… we need to have some light stuff in there!  Not sure about the linen bed because Bill isn’t in love with it and we both worry Rugrat will use it as a scratching pad.  But again, I can’t just buy dark furniture.  So we’re trying to find a middle ground.

Sofa
 vs 

Do we just buy the same sofa and loveseat that we had before?  I loved our original set, and I feel an emotional attachment to it since it was our first living room set.  But Bill really wants a sectional.  I’m not completely sold on the sectional for a couple of reasons – what if we don’t like the color as much? What if it isn’t as soft? And what if it doesn’t look as good for the room layout? I really liked our living room set up before, and I’m afraid to screw it up.  

In the grand scheme of life, all of these decisions and choices are not important. But we want to get as much done as possible before we move back in so that we’re not living in limbo in the house too long.  We had FINALLY gotten to the point where we were almost done buying furniture, hanging things on the walls, decorating, etc.  And now we’re starting over from scratch.  Sure, we could buy the exact same stuff and call it a day, but there were a lot of things we had that we weren’t too happy with.  So, here I am playing interior decorator hours on end. Good thing I generally do enjoy decorating, shopping at furniture stores, and browsing Pinterest and Houzz all day.

site meter

Log in to write a note

I wouldn’t do a sectional yet, especially if you plan on moving in a few years. We got one for the apartment and for 5 years now it has been separated in our living room because the current space doesn’t work for a sectional. And they make a room feel very small, so if your living room is already small it will feel worse. It’s not a choice I’d make again, unless I was buying it for a huge den or basement. I like the small sectional sofa things though with the chaise at the end. Maybe that’d be a good compromise?

something like this? http://www.mmfurniture.com/circa-taupe-sofa-chaise.html I think if you do dark furniture but you hang white curtains at ceiling height it would help make the room look larger. I wouldn’t do too much dark furniture, but a dark bed frame with light bedding and floor to ceiling curtains would be pretty.

Dorey park! There’s baseball fields next to the soccer fields and concession stands and everything now.