life in the very slow lane

I don’t know when I’m going to finish The England Chronicles. I seem to be having problems doing anything productive. Lazy by nature, I’ve become a total sloth living with enforced rest. Mostly I’ve been reading — actual books. Oddly enough I’ve not even been on the computer all that much, even now that I feel it’s okay to hoist my laptop again (I am currently in the "lift no more than ten pounds" stage). I haven’t been watching movies or TV by myself, either; also a little unexpected. Reading and sleeping– that’s about it. I’ve read Son of A Witch and A Lion Among Men, the second and third book in the Wicked Years series by Gregory Macguire. I read Wicked ages ago and LOVED it. Didn’t like Son of a Witch at all, though. It just plodded along, and the main character Liir (maybe or maybe not the Wicked Witch’s son) was so bland and uninteresting that I couldn’t have cared less what happened to him. Kind of surprisingly, though, I started A Lion Among Men immediately upon finishing Son of A Witch, and really liked it. Not quite as good as Wicked, but it sure kept me reading. I am doing the Twelve in 12 again this year so I’ll save it for my review and not go on and on about them now. (Hopefully I will become less lazy and do the reviews soon. Hahahahaha!!!!) Now I’m well into Little Bee, which is WONDERFUL. And I just got The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, since I seem to be the only person on the planet who hasn’t read any of those books.

This is how I used to read. Back before the days of the Evil TimeSucker Internet. Incessantly.

And apparently that’s about all I’ve been doing. I’m feeling fine, but have absolutely 0 energy. Which is exactly what the doctor told me to expect. I’m sore still, but that will take awhile too. So I read and nap. I ventured out in the car for the first time Wednesday, which was fun. I went to the mall and bought a couple more not-too-unsightly pairs of pants. One yoga, one not-too-ugly sweatpants. That I’m not completely mortified to be seen in public wearing. My stomach is still about three times its usual size and if it’s not back to normal by the time I return to work I guess I’m going to have to buy some Old Lady Polyester Stretchy Waist Pants. Which KILLS ME. Dresses are a good suggestion, but I really don’t like wearing dresses. Unless it’s summer and it’s a cute summery dress that doesn’t involve slips and hose. And even then I probably won’t wear one because I just do not like dresses. I don’t like Old Lady Polyester Stretchy Waist Pants either. Apparently I’m vainer than I realized. I walked all over Belk, turning my nose up at, oh, everything I saw which would not be painful to wear. Thinking, I WOULD NOT BE CAUGHT DEAD IN THAT!!!!

We have been watching Red Dwarf again (the entire series, start to finish) and I am afraid that I may be The Cat. There’s a particular scene in Demons and Angels, where the Red Dwarf crew meets their higher angelic counterparts that fits just perfectly. 

(I have no idea why I can’t seem to embed video anymore. There’s a clip from the very scene here, though.)

Favorite exchange ever:

Cat:  Buddy, ain’t no way you’re a part of me! No part of me would ever be seen alive in sandals!
Higher Cat:  I find clothes a distraction from the pursuit of spiritual and intellectual fulfillment. 
Cat:  That’s weird- I find spiritual and intellectual fulfillment a distraction from the pursuit of clothes! 

Well, fine, guess I can wear my PJs with the festive martini glasses all over them to work when I return. And if I don’t quit eating, I’m not going to be able to fit into any of my clothes even if my stomach DOES stop being swollen. For the first four days or so, I hardly ate a thing- I just was not a bit hungry, and in fact felt too full all the time. Naturally my appetite did return, not being one to ever disappear for long, and I have been indulging WAY too much for someone who is getting very little exercise. Example: we bought two boxes of Girl Scout Cookies from our neighbor last night – a Thin Mints and a lemon one — and both are gone. Yes, Baker B and I ate two boxes of cookies in less than 24 hours. This is why I do not buy cookies. So, yeah, need to stop that. 

I have been walking some, at least. I have walked on the Greenway Trail several days this week, and Baker B and I have gone to Blowing Rock and walked around town too. That does make me feel much better. I’m hoping that this will get me back into the habit of walking daily, even though these are short little walks. I’m walking a bit more every time. 

And we’ve had visitors — my dad came up yesterday, and brought his new BFF. This is a woman he has known all his life — in fact, she was his sister’s best friend. They were neighbors as kids, and are still neighbors. They’ve been hanging around together for awhile, mostly going out to eat and going for rides. He’d never brought her up here, though – he’s actually not been up here himself since before my mom died, which was kind of a shock to realize. I’m glad he’s go someone to do stuff with – he’s so social, and hates not having someone to talk to. And she’s very nice — I’ve known her all my life too, of course. That was a pleasant little break, having company and going out to lunch (more food!) They didn’t stay very long either, even nicer. Because it really made me tired. Kim’s coming up tomorrow too, yay! It’s also nice that nobody expects the house to be all that clean, and Baker B is doing enough cleaning by himself that we don’t look like the total pigs we are. 

Well, this certainly is meandering. Like my brain itself lately. Must be time to go take another nap!

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2011

But isn’t it lovely to get back to reading big time? I’ve been doing a bitmore than usual. I work part time so that I can do the things i enjoy. One of the things I enjoy most is reading. Soemtimes feel guilty tho.

February 19, 2011

Reading is productive! I can relate to Smudgyrose’s comment though – I always seem to feel guilty if I just sit and read during the day – it’s like I need a reason – like being ill or Absolutely Everything Else In The World Being Caught Up which of course never happens.

February 19, 2011

i just ordered girl with a dragon tattoo with my xmas gift certificate, i haven’t read any of those either. i really love the fact that you have martini glass PJ’s!! now go take a nap!! xoxo

it is good to hear from yoi

February 19, 2011

You need the time to rest, so enjoy it. There will be plenty of time later for the time sucking Internet and for photo opportunity inspired walks to undo too much eating — if you’ll take a not so subtle hint. SR alerted me to the fact that something changed with the code YouTube provides. I find the easiest way around it is to click embed and then scroll down and check the box that says “old embed code” or something similar. It’s the last of four or five options. SR mentioned some other technique can be found with some searching in the OD help forum as well.

February 19, 2011

You go, girl. Reading is also what I used to do nonstop before the internet. I haven’t read any of those “girl with the dragon tatoo” books either, but they are on my list. Glad you’re feeling better bit by bit!

I tried to read Wicked some time back, and just couldn’t get into it at all. Not my thing, I guess. About embedding: if it’s Youtube, try seeing if there’s something that says “paste OLD CODE” or something. When I was trying to embed the Katy Perry Video, I couldn’t get it to take, until my husband found this option on the place where you get the embed codes. Rest is good, and rest will help healyour body. My stomach always looks like I’m five months pregnant, and I’ve resigned myself that nothing but a tummy tuck will alleviate it at this point. I believe you will get your figure back in a few weeks.

February 19, 2011

I wear these LL Bean pants all the time that are stretchy without being old lady like at all. They are in a mat fabric. I wear them into work and sometimes even to yoga and when it is cold I wear warm tights under them and it doesn’t look bulky. Let me know if you’d like the item #. I should start watching Red Dwarf again. I think I only watched two seasons. Yesterday I watchedboth episodes of the Season 4 finale of Doctor Who. Everybody is in there! Gwen and Ianto are introduced to the Doctor (Owen and Tosh are gone) and the Doctor’s current companion Donna can’t keep her hands off Jack! It is a must see.

February 19, 2011

Oh and I guess they forgot to tell you at the hospital about the healing properties of Girl Scout cookies!

February 19, 2011

I Liked the wicked series. I like too that the worse part of your recovery is feeling lazy.

February 19, 2011

You aren’t the only person on the planet who hasn’t read the Larson books – I haven’t either, and haven’t felt any compunction to do so. I bought Little Bee a while back (I think it’s been three weeks) and haven’t gotten through the first chapter yet. Yes, I used to read like that too, before the dreaded internet got to me. I’m going to have to give up something for Lent, and it may be all but thirty minutes a day on the computer. I’ve ordered and gotten books through the on-line Borders Marketplace (used books), Amazon (used books), eBay, and paperbackswap.com, and I’d estimate that I have about 100 books sitting here waiting to be read and either added to my library or put up on pbs to exchange. I need about three weeks of sustained “nothing to do except read” time to catch up. Hurry up and get well–you can’t be a sloth forever, ya know?

February 19, 2011

I ordered two boxes of GS cookies and they have not yet arrived. Please leave me your address in a private note and I will be glad to ship them to NC to aid in your ongoing recovery.

February 20, 2011

Sounds like your healing is going just fine. What could be better than reading, family, friends, and cookies?

February 20, 2011

Glad you’re healing up. Can’t you wear some black yoga pants to work until the stomach settles down?

I’m glad you’re doing okay with your enforced rest. I have Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on my nook and started reading it but had to put it down for some reason. I should read it with you! We can be our own little mini book club only you probably will get more reading done than I will! Yikes! You know I used to be able to read a few books a month. And I wanted to read Wicked, too. Maybe that will be my next nook buy. Mostly I try to download free (or nearly free) books down to the nook. Blah, blah, blah. Sorry. I had coffee too late in the day. Anywho, I love Red Dwarf, but have not seen the whole series. I should really get the series because I LOVE THE CAT!!! *hugs*

February 21, 2011

ryn: I have done my share of inhaling those cookies which is why I want to send what I’ve ordered to you! You need them more than I do. You’re recuperating!

February 23, 2011

That’s exactly how I’ve been reading, incessantly. I cannot get the words in fast enough. Going for a year and a half without reading (which now I still cannot believe, lst time ever I’d not read every day.) was horrible. What happened? I have to go back and find out… I have to laugh, I felt a real jolt when I got to reading this, I was so involved in your England journey! Ok, going back..

March 18, 2011

Yay for stretchy pants. Sometimes you just have to accept them.