still among the living

Firstly, thanks for all the very kind notes! Second, I apologize in advance for any weird typos. I’m using the netbook which is cute and handy (and very very light; the main consideration here) but it has a tricky mousepad and the keyboard leaves a lot to be desired too, AND the cursor jumps around to random places on the screen when I type, which is quite annoying. So I make a lot of typos while on it. My beloved laptop is heavy enough that I think I need to avoid it for a few more days. And Baker B is on his desktop. And I’d rather lounge on the couch while typing anyhow.

All that to say that I survived, and I’m doing fine. I am tiiiiiiired, I think that’s the biggest problem at the moment. Totally 0 energy. Which is ok, as I am under severe orders to do absolutely nothing. So no problem just taking a nap. Or five. Today Baker B and I did go to Blowing Rock and walk around town a bit, which was very nice. Especially since it was around 50 (heat-wave weather for here these days) and not snowing. I’ve been walking around the house quite a bit too, although we have such a small house that "walking around the house" consists of about fifteen steps. So I’ve been walking around and around.

The hospital stay was spent mostly passed out – thank you, pain IVs!– except for when they woke me up every. single. hour. to take vital signs. Meaning poor Baker B got woken up every single hour too. I had a single room and the armchair pulled out into a little bed so he was able to stay there with me. It did seem like time was completely screwed up, since I’d wake up and it would be, oh, 8:00, and I’d think it was eight in the morning but it was actually eight at night. That happened pretty much every time I was awakened for vital signs. But no real big deal, since I just went right back to sleep. 

It has really not been as painful as you’d think — mostly I feel sore. And that’s a lot better. I do appear to be pregnant, which I was NOT expecting, and is kind of annoying since for some reason it never crossed my mind that, DUH, I might not be able to wear jeans for awhile. Did I go buy some not-unsightly stretchy waistband pants? Of course I didn’t. So I’ve got a couple of pairs of yoga pants that are very thin, and one pair of baggy sweatpants that are so high-water they’d be too short on someone half my height. And pjs of course, my daywear of choice, but eventually I do want to go back out in public with minimum embarrassment. Maybe I can wear some of my baggier jeans by then. Or it will warm up enough that I won’t freeze to death in the yoga pants. 

But if that’s my biggest complaint, I have nothing to complain about. Baker B has been a saint, waiting on me hand and foot. The cats have stuck to me like glue, especially the day I came home. They all three slept with me, and every time I got up to go to the bathroom Eddie and Cayce would come too, and follow me all over the house. Eddie is sitting here with me right this minute. They’ve been wonderful company. And now I need to get off the computer and …. sleep some more. 

Log in to write a note

I’m glad your home and doing okay. Surgery is so darned awful. Especially what you just went through.

{{{hugs}}}

February 13, 2011

So glad you pulled through with minimum discomfort. So glad to see an update from you!

February 13, 2011

Glad you are feeling better. That surgery is NOT fun–and I had a huge incision when I had mine.

February 13, 2011

Glad to see yu back again. It’s weird feeling like sleeping so often, and being able to sleep isn’t it? But kinda nice too. Stay comfy.

February 14, 2011

glad you are home and able to get aound the house. just take it easy and don’t strain yourself. take care,

February 14, 2011

I’m glad to see you’re still among us. Rest up. The cats know what’s best.

February 14, 2011

Fantastic

February 14, 2011

Glad you’re feeling better. The cats are marvelous company plus they keep you warm! I know this is not your style, but I have been wearing loose dresses ever since my surgery. Can’t beat’em for comfort.

February 14, 2011

lots of naps def sound in order. glad you are doing well, recover quickly!!

Sounds good. I hate hospitals. They never let you get a decent night’s sleep.

February 14, 2011

You must feel so disoriented. Thanks for checking in, great that they let Baker B stay with you.

i am glad that you are home. now onwards! 🙂

February 15, 2011

You sleep away – best thing for the healing process. I’d forgotten how the cats stuck to me as well when I was at home – I wasn’t sure if they ‘knew’ anything or if it was just because I was at home at times I wouldn’t normally have been. You’d think they’d have told you about the ‘bloating’ bit – save you worrying about it apart from anything else! My surgery really wasn’t an ordeal – like you I was sore and wobbly for the first week then gradually started to feel the strength returning – the hard bit was knowing how heavy things were – what I could do and lift etc – again lots of conflicting advice given so that I had to basically play it by ear and hope I was getting it right somewhere along the way and not wrecking my insides! Bet you’re glad it’s over though.

February 16, 2011

Re: Torchwood: If you look on Amazon you’ll see a bunch of audio books narrated by our beloved Captain Jack and the cast. Some are radio plays, some are books. BTW, did you know that Torchwood is an anagram of Doctor Who? Hope you are continuing to be on the mend.

February 16, 2011

Don’t cats make great nurses? I’m glad to hear you’re home and doing well.

February 16, 2011

yes bloating I remember. I also was surprised at how shakey I was from the gas they use to put one out… Get better

February 17, 2011

Yes, surgery does fill one with gas, one of its less pleasant effects–but short-term. Glad you’re mending.

February 19, 2011

Hello! Sorry, only now just catching up with other people’s trials and tribulations. Glad it all went smoothly. LOL at being woken up through the night so they could check your vitals. I *hate* having to do that to patients, but after an op it’s essential to make sure you’re not bleeding anywhere. Oh, yeah, comfy pants – wouldn’t have occurred to me either! Hope you find some nice ones.

Aren’t the instincts and faithfulness of cats amazing? Why do we bother with men at all? *winks* Just kidding. I’m sorry I hadn’t noted this. I have been very bad getting on here lately. I jumped on at work and noted that you were “still among the living” but forgot to get back on to read and note. Way to go Baker B for being a love. You deserve it anyway. Seems like you two have a really lovely relationship.

March 18, 2011

I’m glad it went well. I have had 20 surgeries so far in my life and it isn’t any fun, even with the good drugs.