Social Hysterics

My timeline is much much more interesting with my ‘Only Me’ posts, if only they’re tagged public. But I keep them private. Why? Simple and heartbreaking truth of the matter is, I don’t trust the friends I have online, not with my life or my feelings, not even to care about me and sincerely cheer for me and wish me the happiness I deserve.

The reality is that even the ones we think we keep as friends can be causing trouble and wishing our downfalls behind our backs. Sometimes, they turn into something else. But what I do know is that I have basis for saying this.

Sometimes, friends tell you things, post and tag you in stuff that makes people think ‘Oh wow they get along so well’ or ‘Oh they’re still friends. Cool’ but funny thing is action, even silence, will forever speak louder than words ever could. 

And in the lack of action or attempt for communication, I found how much little they care. So yes, I hide things on Facebook and Twitter and Tumblr and Instagram and Google and in basically all my social media. I don’t believe it caters and encourages a reality that is sincere and meaningful. I think people really become more fake with more and more use of it.

My birthday’s coming soon.

Well, I used to hide even that. But then it made me feel pathetic how so little remembers, so this year, I thought, might as well let myself be greeted even if it means practically broadcasting it myself.

It’s the one day of the year that I’m so very grateful for because God let me be born into the world He created for us. So for this special, truly one of a kind gift called life, I praise Him.

And I for one, wants to spend and greet that day positively.

Log in to write a note

Birthdays are special. 🙂 I understand that you want privacy and all that, but you shan’t hide on your birthday lol.. 🙂

August 4, 2022

My birthday is coming up as well. Aug 10th. It’s just another day on the calendar to me, though. I stopped celebrating it years ago. I guess it’s different as you get older.
I agree, though, that social media is an extremely fake world. I suppose that’s why I’ve managed to avoid it most of my life.

August 6, 2022

@ashestoashes Advance happy birthday to you 🙂

August 6, 2022

@elingale

Thank you! Happy early birthday to you as well! Hopefully, it’s a good day for you!

August 6, 2022

@ashestoashes It is. Thanks 🙂