Typewriter

I have a love of the olden days. You know, not the real ones but the ones viewed through retrospective rose tints.

The Olden Days as described by Fannie Flagg, in which a whole town were above the racism of the rest of the south, in which people really were nice and kind and neighbourly. Of course I’m sure many people were (and are) good, kind folks but human nature prevails, there will always be those that consider themselves better than others, of a higher standard/intelligence than others.

It doesn’t take away my longing for ‘the good old days’. Even if, in reality, my life would have been more repressed (as a woman). It’s the idea of it, not the reality.

And the reason for this entry? I want a typewriter, and an office with a south facing aspect, allowing the sunshine to filter in. I would like peace and tranquility in which to write with no technology available. Just me and my thoughts.

To get the office, I’d have to kick eldest out – she has the only south facing room, and convince the family that the kthunk kthunk kthunk of a typewriter is a sound they’d like to have echoing around the house!!

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2018

Hmm first born could have a tent in the summer and there’s always ear plugs…

 

i leant to type on a typewriting and really did come to love it x

March 30, 2018

@wiresgirl ha ha, I like your thinking! Xx

March 30, 2018

I started out on a typewriter (the only other option was hand-written back then!), and all my university papers were produced at a desk, looking out the window over Central Park, as the keys clattered away.  I remember the “upgrade” from a manual to an electric model that had these disks for different fonts.  Wonderful until they broke as you were typing and went flying out of the machine.

March 30, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm i never went to an electric one – I stick with the manual one I was given for my eleventh Christmas 😊

March 30, 2018
March 31, 2018

I so remember writing university papers with carbon paper on a good old typewriter….sigh…saved my fingers though!