Mom

The featured picture in this entry I “borrowed” from my brother’s (pictured) Facebook. I didn’t know he had it, but I loved it. That’s how I remember my mom. She was a character and an amazing woman. She died at age 56 (1992) from a brain tumor.

Apparently, the picture was taken during a Christmas, though I don’t know the year. My brother looks to be around 16 in the picture and he’s 51 now,  so you can do the math.

I always forget how pretty my mom was because of the photos I’ve seen of her where she’s older. She was still pretty older, but youthful pretty is different. I remember seeing a picture of her once when she was 22’ish. It was taken when she was waiting tables at a restaurant in Chicago. She looked so young and attractive, I didn’t realize it was her at first.

I really don’t have a take-away with this entry, but she is very missed by her entire family. Miss you mom.

 

Log in to write a note
March 8, 2018

That is nice that you have good memories of her.

March 8, 2018

Just a lovely moment to share with all of us. Thanks.

March 8, 2018

Youthful pretty IS different

Brain tumors took my mother at age 50. So I can relate.