Drive Home

I was driving my father home from church today. He needs rides everywhere because he is legally blind. Normally my mother takes care of that but she is out of town and can’t help. So I’ve been getting him around. Today we’re driving home. The subject of my ex and I comes up. And my father’s attitude comes out. We started talking about how she would just volunteer me for all manor of things without consulting me. No consideration for my schedule or anything else. My fathers is that I should have just sucked done what ever she wanted. And he kept saying that. It annoyed me and I finally barked at him. Mostly because it’s the advice I’ve getting during my whole marriage. Just give the woman her way. Humor her. Try it her way. And I did that. For years. And the more I relented, deferred, did what she wanted the more she demanded and became more unreasonable. I don’t mind doing things for people. I like to make people happy. But I’m tired of being a door mat. I’m not just going to such anything up and do just because someone says do it.

Log in to write a note
September 20, 2018

This is how I felt for the entirety of my marriage. I’m glad she’s your ex. I was terrified of divorce, but it was one of the most freeing things that’s ever happened to me.