A Bottle of Pinot and Fashion Faux Pas

Have any of you seen that new pregnancy test commercial?  The ad displays the slender, rotating stick before a midnight blue background, showcasing the new, improved digital readout — "Pregnant" or "Not Pregnant".  The announcer speaks smoothly with a quite distinguished voice, "The most technologically advanced test… that you will ever pee on."

Weird.

I’ve been so ridiculously busy this week.  I’ve been slammed with two new projects, both with impossibly close deadlines.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been very productive at work because of the numerous meetings regarding my upcoming travel.  I’ve met with coworkers who’ve already been overseas and HR reps to discuss payment and travel plans.  I’ve had to schedule three different doctor appointments for the next month.  One for a dental checkup, one with a gynecologist so I can refill a four month supply of birth control pills, and one for a physical and shots.  I haven’t had a shot since before I started kindergarden.  Now, I have to get flu, typhoid, smallpox, tetnis, and hepatitis A shots all in one day.  You’d think that with as many tattoos and piercings as I have, it wouldn’t phase me.  I have to admit, though, that I’m a little nervous about it.

I do officially have a deploy date.  I’ll be leaving April 15th, and I should return at the end of July.  I’ll be flying from Colorado Springs to Chicago to Frankfurt, Germany, to Doha, Qatar.  I’ll probably get stuck in Qatar for a couple of days because all transport from that point on is by military aircraft.  It’s not like I’ll have a scheduled flight.  I’ll just have to wait until they can fit me on a plane.  Besides, I have to get my work visa while there.  Fortunately, my company has an apartment in Qatar, so I’ll have a place to stay.

Out of curiousity, I checked an archive site to determine what I could expect weather-wise.  Last year’s average temperature for June and July was 110 degrees.  In July, the temp topped out at 123.  Nice.  At least I won’t have to deal with Arkansas humidity.  I’m also already feeling the effects of cultural differences.  I have a buddy flying with me all the way to Qatar.  Though he’s continuing on to Afghanistan, we will both be staying at the apartment while waiting for flights out.  I was informed that I wouldn’t be able to wait with him for a taxi.  Women are required to wait in a separate area from the men.  This is going to be interesting.

My cousin, Matt, recently spent a year in Iraq and will soon be returning.  My Aunt sent my mom an email yesterday with a few words of advice.  Mom forwarded a snippet of the conversation.  "Tell her to check her bed often for little critters trying to find a cozy place to sleep… and I don’t mean men.  But should she find one of those in her bed, do as she pleases.  Haha!" 

I’ve also spoken to several military friends that have spent time overseas.  All were men, and all have said the same thing.  Terrorists are the least of my concerns.  I need to watch out for the lonely, sex-deprived Army boys.  Here’s hoping.  Apparently, the ratio of women to men in Iraq is about 1:1000.  My hot coworker (whose swinger wife I’ve recently been chatting up) commented, "Women who are a five in this country are, like, a ten over there.  You’d be an eighty or ninety!"  Interested much?

In other news, artist boy has been been blowing up my phone and my MySpace.  He keeps making comments like, "I know I’m not your type.  If I were your type, though, I’d definitely ask you out."  In fact, he sent one text that said, "I should’ve gone to the martini bar with you Friday night.  I wasn’t sure you wanted me to go, though."  Hmm, maybe he thought that because I didn’t invite him.  I opted for 15C because he and his friends had comedy show tickets.  This is why it’s so hard for a female to have guy friends.  I often get along more easily with men than I do women, but men can never seem to keep the relationship platonic.  Trust me.  If I’m interested in you, you will definitely know.  I’m not a shy girl, and I have no qualms about making the first move.  I don’t play hard to get, and I’m an easy read.  You thought I was going to say "easy lay", didn’t you?  Admit it.

After this stressful week, I opted to stay in tonight.  I’ve been watching a "What Not to Wear" marathon, and I just finished off a bottle of pinot.  I might go out on the town tomorrow night, though.  The Nocturnal Mockery art show is going on, and afterwards, I might head back down to 15C.  I’m thinking a tiramisu martini would just melt away the anxiety with a little chocolatey coffee goodness.  Oh, yes.

Cheers,
Felina

Log in to write a note
March 9, 2007

Doha, Qatar..i’ve never heard of that place~ i’ve had the same thing with having guy friends just stay friends : / i love what not to wear 🙂

March 9, 2007

That commercial tripped me out too. Good luck,

March 9, 2007

RYN: Don’t be sorry. That entry was my very first one, from over five years ago. Believe me, I’m over it by now.

March 9, 2007

Im so jealous of the adventure you are going to take~~!! Hope you find time when you are over there to keep us updated!!

RYN: As a matter of fact, you were. 😉

March 10, 2007

At your age you should have mastered this by now. If not, it will change your life. Please read. http://www.intellectualwhores.com/masterladder.html

March 10, 2007

and then the stream of sparkling urine falling from the sky like the woman had propped herself up and aimed… more evidence that these things are created by men

March 10, 2007

okay, time for artsy boy to get a reality check. its called, “i really got the brother vibe from you. i do have a cute girlfriend that would be perfect for you!” that aughta do the trick..haha!! my cousin was in iraq for about a year and through the summer. they have sand storms and what not..be sure to get goggles that keep sand out – im not kidding. oh, and as far as your house bills go, if you have online banking, you can set up your account to automatically pay people on a certain day. they will mail the check out or even to an auto payment right to the vendor/utility/etc. Oh, one more thing for the desert, bring scorpian spray…they’re everywhere (not to mention HUGE spiders)!

SOC
March 10, 2007

IF you ever saw “WHEN HARRY MET SALLY”, you remember what Billy Crystal’s character had to say about men and women being friends.

March 10, 2007

International love affairs don’t count!

March 10, 2007

I have seen it, I had to rewind it…I was like…did he just say pee on??!!??

March 10, 2007

Wow that is alot to intake.. Wow goodluck with it all.

March 11, 2007

You may have to resort to brutal honesty. Mabye next next time he says, “I know I’m not your type, you can say…”no, your not.”….In case I didn’t tell you yesterday (hee), I had lots of GREAT sex this weekend…ahhh…yay.

March 12, 2007

haha, I HAVE seen that commercial. It is DEFINITELY on the weirder side, I’ve rarely seen such a bold commercial. But it IS funny 😉 And probably true! Except for that Tetrachloroethylene Neutrino-scope I was once peed on… hahaha, anyway, I’m excited for you! But TOTALLY bummed that you’re going to be leaving! JUST as I was looking for an excuse to come visit 😉

March 12, 2007

Sorry for my absence, been a crazy busy few weeks here. I’m sure you had better things to do than notice, however! I spent a couple years in Military bases abroad, and a few months in Iraq, we’ll have to chat sometime. You’re going to have a blast! Well…you’re going to have good stories, at the very least! Still lovin your picture, btw. You’ll have to send another :-p

March 12, 2007

I thought it was relevant after your artsy guy scenario. Let’s be honest, he wants to hit it. =) Oh, and the Ladder Theory is a way of life. My gal and I have hard core debates about how it fits into everything. But she always accuses me of wanting to screw all of my girl friends. “No baby, you’re just higher up on the ladder than all of them.” =)

March 12, 2007

A bottle of Pinot… yeah, that might work right about now. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

March 12, 2007

OMG your trip sounds like fun evern if its work related…i would love to be able to travel. good luck with it all thu and be careful my friend.

ryn – so, you’re not offering then? dammit all to hell, ever since i saw that stripper pole pick it’s all I’ve wanted to do. tease.

March 12, 2007

Ryn: I don’t know, it sucks more than I can comprehend.

March 12, 2007

ryn: I think that he’s stationed an hour and a half outside of Baghdad. That’s not for sure; but I think that’s what my mom told me. They aren’t allowed to leave the base they’re on. I think that’s a good thing!

March 13, 2007

Wow your trip sounds so exciting! I’m jealous. 🙂 I hope everything goes ok and you find those lonely sex starved Army boys, ha ha!

March 13, 2007

Wow, what an experience you are going to have……

March 13, 2007

I loved the Middle East! I can’t wait to go back!

March 14, 2007

please please leave me a note and tell me the name of your hair color!!!! it is GORGEOUS