Welcome Back!

Yep. I welcomed myself back because who else will? My OD friends from a while ago are probably not using this website anymore. Still! I am thrilled to find out that Open Diary has relaunched! I always loved this website and I could not BELIEVE that it has been up and running again or the past almost 2 years!

Wow! It’s been a crazy 5 years since I last wrote in this. My last OD Entry was on January 5th, 2014. Had I not found this by then, it would be almost 6 years since I last wrote in this diary. I was 18 at the time. Now I’m 24. I’m glad I had this diary before the relaunch, that way I don’t have to pay the $3.99/month subscription to keep it up and running.

I remember back in Fall 2013/January 2014 that I was telling my friend Greg about this website. We were exchanging personal pieces of ours and he said that he would show me one of his raps if I showed him my diary. I finally gave in and he showed me one of his raps, which were in my opinion pretty good! Afterwards I was about to show him my diary until I go online and find out that the website shut down — I was extremely devastated when this happened because I poured my heart and soul onto all of these entries and even made some friends out of it. To find out that my documentation of all of my high school experience / highlights were gone was devastating to me. I randomly was looking through an old bucket list book of mine and it had a section about documenting your life and I remembered OD. I just researched it again just for kicks and I was blissfully surprised that it had been relaunched in January of 2018. To think that I could have been documenting this whole time makes me sad, but it also makes me ECSTATIC about finding all my old entries and reading them! Man, it’s been a good sprint down memory lane. And a lot has changed since my last entry on here.

All the things that I considered dear to me were nothing compared to what I had experienced within these past 5 years. Let’s see… ever since my last entry:

Relationship-wise: I was still trying to get over Surya, my first boyfriend in my last few entries before the OD 2014 shutdown. I joined student government in Spring 2014 where I had 2 guys who liked me, Luis and Eric. I dated Luis for a month until I found out he also liked another girl. I broke it off with him and dated Eric as a rebound. It went on for way longer than it should have (a year and 3 months to be exact) until I eventually knew we didn’t click that well. I was singled for 10 months until I met Jae, my cute physics partner in college. At the end of Spring 2016, he asked me out to the movies and we’ve been dating ever since then, so over 3 years. I feel like I truly found the one for me through lots of trial and error. I’ll talk more about him later 🙂

Education-wise: I was still beginning community college before OD shut down. Basically…
2013-2014 – Stayed in a community college
2014-2017 – Transferred to another community college, earned my A.A. Degree in Architecture
2017-2019 – Went to UC Berkeley, earned my B.A. Degree in Architecture

Family-wise: Cassie moved to LA. Dominic moved to LA. Tammie moved back in. Grandma moved in with us. Now it’s the 5 of us at home. 2017 my mom found out my dad had an affair with a coworker of his. Ever since then she hasn’t been the same. She’s now paranoid and interrogative. Grandma has been good to have around the house. She’s been good for my mom to have an emotional outlet. I don’t know about my dad. I’ll talk about this later as well.

Friend-wise: Most of my friends I had before OD shut down have drifted apart from me. It happens, but I think the most sad was having one of my former best friends break up with me in October. I cried because she stated coldly over text that she doesn’t want to hangout or talk to me really anymore after I’ve made multiple attempts to reach out to her. We had been friends since 2009. It just sucks because I knew we drifted apart – the architecture program at Berkeley is fucking intense and I barely had time for myself, let alone friends. I was never the type to reach out to a friend each month. Sigh. Maybe I’ll dedicate another post to her later.

So yeah! A lot has happened since then.

I feel like I was a lot more authentic with myself on here than any other social media website. I think this is truly a unique website where people aren’t necessarily flexing or showing off their achievement but it’s so refreshing to just see some humans spout their thoughts about life on here… doubts, fears, insecurities, shames, etc. It’s all refreshing to see that on here instead of what I see on a daily basis.

I’ll definitely be going on here a lot more often. That’s all for now! Maybe some next posts will be about what plans I have for 2020. I have a lot to talk about!!

 

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2019

Welcome back to OD. I hope you find out as useful as you did years ago.

November 4, 2019

@heffay Thanks for the welcome! It is pretty useful. I was writing blog posts on my own website but it just wasn’t the same as using this platform.

kat
November 4, 2019

welcome back!!

 

November 4, 2019

@kaliko Thanks for the welcome!!

November 5, 2019

I LOVE this entry.  I share your enthusiasm for the come back – I was ecstatic when I found out and came racing back to find my old diary. Like you said, it’s a crazy trip down memory lane. I’m glad the @DiaryMaster kept it all like one keeps a time-capsule 🙂  And just to make up for old OD friends who might no longer be around, WELCOME BACK!  😀   (sorry if that spoils your self-welcome haha).

 

December 2, 2019

@thenerve Aw thank you! Haha it’s really amazing, still feels surreal that I’m back on this but I’m glad we all could get our entries back! And thanks for the warm welcome! 😁

November 5, 2019

I’m glad you’re back! It has been a long time, but we all seem to be catching up as we go. I did have a period in time when I wanted to be an architect, such a fascinating profession.

December 2, 2019

@thediarymaster OMG founder!! Thank you so much for keeping all of our diaries and starting this website, it will always hold a special place in my heart, we all owe it to you! And architecture is definitely interesting and life changing as well!

December 2, 2019

@flipfriend you’re welcome of course!