Thoughts of Mother and Father for Fathers Day

The man I call my father passed away May 1st, 2017. He and my mother had been together since 1976. He never once gave up on her. My mother wasn’t some beauty queen or such. My father would look at her the way I have never seen any other man look at a woman. You could see the purest of love in his eyes. When mom passed away January 5th, 2014 he was crushed. He gallantly tried to hide it. His health began going down hill. In just over 3 short years he was gone as well. They can blame it on any of a number of medical issues they want. My father died of a broken heart. It’s that simple.

 

He was an amazing man. I went to live with them when I was 15. He and I could have easily hated each other. It’s a long story and irrelevant to what I am saying today. He taught me so much. I’m not talking about the general things a man teaches his child. He taught what respect and honor were. He taught me these were two of the most , if not the most, important things in a persons character. He taught me to be true to my word. To honest with myself as well as others. He taught to love the right way. To treat women with respect. Let them have their freedom and at the same time let them know they are wanted and needed by you. That they are stronger than they realize and to never take a woman for granted.

My father taught me to laugh at myself before laughing at others. To understand we all make mistakes and not judge quickly or harshly without understanding or know where a person is coming from. I’m 50 now. Every day I can hear him and my mother in my head. I am blessed to have incredible parents who loved and always supported me. I don’t mean financially. We never had a lot of money. We did, however, have each other and a bond that cannot truly be described. As long as we had each other we had everything we needed in life. No need for fancy cars, clothes or such. We could care less about what celebrity was doing what. They didn’t affect our daily lives.

My father and mother always nurtured me and encouraged me to grow. Even today they do. I may never have a  family of my own. I will never have children of my own to share the wisdom I received from them. So be God’s wishes. I can deal with that. As I get older I find it harder and harder to deal with purposeful ignorance. I’ve never been and never will a sheep. My father and mother taught me not to be afraid to follow my own path and enjoy the trip when I do, which I do quite often. They taught me it’s OK for me to be me.

God bless you mom and dad. I am the person I am today because of you. I hope and pray you’re proud of me and I live up to your expectations.

I get what this page is for now and am very thankful it’s back. I will be posting frequently about all manners of things.

Log in to write a note