12/08/2013

So very much has happened since the last time I’ve posted here. While I certainly don’t have time for a "real" post, I do intend to keep this blog active, so the best and only thing to do at the moment is to tell a cute kitten story.

 

My kitten, Sage, is closing in on two now. He was adopted from an animal rescue last Christmas, J and my gift to each other.  He’s a teenage punk and a charmer- we went to the cardiologist today for his annual checkup, and three different ladies (the receptionist, the vet tech, and a stranger in the waiting room) all commented on how handsome he is. He launched into an all-out comedy routine for the vet tech, and insisted on saying goodbye to the receptionist before we left.  Yes, somehow or other, I, the extreme introvert, acquired the world’s most extroverted cat.

 

About two nights ago, I was brushing my teeth and getting ready to take a shower. A very large cockroach suddenly ran out from under the sink, as often happens in the Deep South. Sage darted after the bug, and pounced on him in the hallway, trapping the cockroach under one of his gigantic fluffy paws. He let the bug up and let it run into my bedroom….where he quickly followed, and then reappeared, carrying the cockroach in his mouth. Rather than eat the cockroach (like my friends say their cats do!) he carried it into the bathtub, where he let it loose, and then chased the cockroach around the shower curtain and the tub. I gave up on showering, until he appeared in another room about fifteen minutes later. Then I headed back to the bathroom, pulled back the curtain and found the cockroach. I cautiously reached for it with a piece of tissue and it moved. My beloved Sagecat had left me a live cockroach in the shower to deal with on my own, and didn’t understand what the heck I was so indignant about. The cockroach wasn’t alive for very long after that.

Log in to write a note
December 8, 2013

mine love spiders 🙂