Heart failure

heart failure journey.

As I am not even close to claiming to be a writer. so if you see huge mistakes. please forgive me.

my journey with heart failure started in 2004. left arm hurt real bad. I did like most men, it will get better in time, it got worse. breathing got really bad. I was having a heart attack. rushed to the emergency room.i was 42.i spent 7 days in the hospital, I had two stints put in my chest. never did I quit smoking or drinking.work was very limited if any.

was never into hard drugs. I will admit. I smoked marijuana for years. drank some, but not a lot .was mostly marijuana, it relaxed me.at the time I had no insurance. if not for Greenville hospital system. not sure what I would have done. October 16, 2016, went back to the emergency room.put in hospital. that was the last time I had a cigarette. I choose to live. heart doctor said. I could put these stints in your heart.but if you don’t quit smoking. I am wasting my time. you’re going to die if you don’t quit smoking.

so the journey began as a nonsmoker.was not easy after 45 years of smoking. but three years out. still, smoke-free.it was not easy. but had to be done. I am not willing to die yet.

my new journey was first a pacemaker/defibrillator in my chest. feels weird. two years after that. I had a cardiomem put in my chest.

all I can say is. my journey is still going. hopefully, I will hang on a while longer.

Log in to write a note
January 7, 2020

HATS OFF TO YOU for quitting. I lost my Mom to lung-cancer – she smoked. A lot. I am glad that you’ve taken off the table, for your loved ones, the possibility of watching you waste away and really painfully die.  What you’ve done is no minor effort, I should know. Congratulations, and many more years of you on Earth!

January 7, 2020

thank you very much. for your kind words.

January 7, 2020

Congratulations on quitting after forty-five years, that is very impressive!

January 7, 2020

@thediarymaster

 

thank you.