Mind Full

So much in my brain lately.  Stuff going on at work, both the performance of the team, the needs of the clients and the uncertainty  of the business overall.  The housework that isn’t getting done, saving money for the future, paying off student loans, getting supplies to school for little m, because I’m late doing it.  Trying to find fun and exciting things for us to do as a family during our time together that isn’t going to break the bank and finding ways for M and I to spend time together.

I am trying to find a good MMO or a video game we’d both enjoy.  I’m thinking about the new game Man of Medan that comes out tomorrow.  It looks fucking amazing and he seems to be interested. At least somewhat.

I also had the most mind blowing experience with second life today.  There is a website called avmatch where you can sign up and make friends.  Kind of like a dating site but for avatars.  I joined to find cool people to hang out with.  To be looking for platonic relationships is not unusual on this site. I’d like to start by saying this. Some people are looking for love but I’m pretty solid in that department.

Someone sent me one of their canned starter messages that was like, “your profile piqued my interest, care to chat?”.  The guy looked like he was looking for a serious relationship so to be nice I sent him the canned response back that said something like “Thank you but I don’t think we’re looking for the same thing.”  I considered not responding at all but a lot of people on the site have expressed that this is not ideal. They would rather have the friendly “No thanks” back.  Didn’t think a second thing about the response until I got home tonight and logged in.  I had a response from him with the subject line “Ok, I understand =)”.  Holy shit.  What I thought was going to be a simple “Thanks for the response.”  was literally the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever read in my life.

I am an avid reader on reddit and imgur and I’ve seen “nice guys” stories but I honestly did not think they were real until this moment.  I couldn’t NOT respond to him so I sent something that I thought was appropriately scathing.  His message, in short, was that anyone I could possibly choose over him would only be second best.  He ended the message with how great he was and then.  “This. Is. Fact.”

I told him to get a fucking clue. But, you know, in polite language.

Log in to write a note