11/17/2013

ALWAYS QUESTIONING
Public 
6 hours ago

 
I AM NEVER SURE WHAT I/WE SHOULD DO BE DOING. I always look around and watch what others do. Most of the times it makes me unhappy. I wonder why I can’t do it. I always think people are living "better" lives than I am. Why can’t I just be satisfied with what I do/have??????? For example yesterday at the stained glass class this man was making amazing HORSES. I was so jealous that he had more imagination than me/more talent than me. Then he told me that he lived in Boca but that he bought a place here so he could take advantage of the activities we have here. One of my friends is renovating their condo. I am not interested in doing any BUT it gets me thinking. Why can they/do they make changes and we don’t?????? I am such an ungrateful BABY! I will one day be sorry for not appreciating what I have and do. I am always looking around at others. Why don’t I think about friends who can’t come to Florida???? Why don’t I think about people who are going through treatment for cancer??? Why am I so immature????? Why am I so ungrateful? How do I change my thinking? I should think about the poor people in the Philippines!!!!!!! I talked to my son last night. He wants to drive my car down in December. I am not sure if he should. He says that he will drive it back too. I don’t know if I need it here. On one hand my hubby says I don’t need it. BUT WILL HE WANT TO TAKE THE CAR TO GOLF ALL THE TIME???? Will we be able to work it out or will I lose out??? I don’t think we’ll know until I can drive and my daughter leaves. I will be able to drive by the end of the week probably. I took a blood test a few days ago and will have results by Thursday. Why don’t I think of my friend that died just before we left????? I will! I must! I must stop being so critical of my work and life. I must stop looking around at what others are doing. I am doing what I want!!!!!!! Of course there are always things I want to do but I have to grow up and realize that you do not get everything you want. I have to appreciate my hubby who drove me around the other day so I could do my messages. I have to appreciate my daughter who gave up an afternoon to take me fun shopping. She also treated me for lunch. WHY DON’T I DWELL ON ALL THE GOOD I HAVE IN MY LIFE??????? SO MANY PEOPLE WOULD BE HAPPY TO TRADE PLACES WITH ME! Anyhow I took my sugar and it was 4.4. Do I have something to eat now that I’m up in the middle of the night????? Tomorrow I go to a Zentangle class. I am looking forward to it. I started a new knitting project last night. So far so good!!!!!!

 

Log in to write a note
November 17, 2013

What you have: A hubby who is fit and go golfing rather than sitting around the TV belching and griping. He does his thing. A husband who takes you do dinner and socializes. Kids and grands you get to see. Two cars. Two places to live. Money for good food. You are warm/cool, dry, have medicine, have friends, have interesting activities that you could make a choice to involve yourself with.

November 17, 2013

I see so many noters struggling with raising granchildren, not knowing where money is going to come from, renting rundown places because that is all they can afford. They did not have husbands who planned wisely for old age so that they could leave Toronto when it’s cold. Maybe making a rosary of your blessings rather than your sorrows would make you see that you have more than 99% of the world.

November 17, 2013

I know depression far too well. I know every drug used to treat it. I also know this: People can CHOOSE to be unhappy and go around making life misery for those around them. Unless you are very deeply depressed due a severe chemical imbalance, or you are psychotic and need to be in a hospital, a lot of your depression is a result of your, “poor, poor, pitiful me” attitude.

November 17, 2013

Do not get down on yourself. We all have areas we are good at and other things we aren’t. You have a husband who is there, and so many activities you can do. Me I have grandkids that perk me up. Said grandkids went to the movies today, big sister took her two younger brothers to the movies. I like that. My son in law watched the football games, me I have watched a couple Christmas movies on TV.

November 17, 2013

you really do have a lot of insecurities don’t you? No need to envy other people though, you have your own talents and attributes. And its worth remembering its not what we have but what we do with what we have that defines much about us. big hugs p

November 18, 2013

I think you’re very, very self aware and I would consider that a good thing. It has to be a big part of the battle of overcoming what you’d like to change. And I wish you the very, very best with changes that will make you more content.

Thanks for your note about the books. I thought “Me Before You” was very absorbing and well-written, but I haven’t cried that hard or that long in a long time! I was just devastated by the ending. I will try “Light Between Oceans,” which is already downloaded onto my iPad. Thanks for the recommendation.

November 18, 2013

These are the questions many ask when looking honestly at attitude and self-reliance. I also struggle at times tiwh recognizing when good enough really is good enough and so on.