DEAR COUSIN’S SON-edited in red

 I am writing this entry to my cousin’s son. I haven’t seen him in years. I hear a lot about him from his mother, my first cousin. So I only hear her side of the story. I wish I could hear his.
Anyhow to make a long story short my cousin’s son has taken most of her money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She is left living strictly on her pension which of course isn’t much.
Apparently when her husband died he left a lot of money. I have no idea how much. I wasn’t in touch with her that much so don’t have any idea what really went down. This is what she tells me:
She was close to a nervous breakdown so her son was helping her. He had a mandate or some type of permission to look after her finances. She agreed to it. Apparently he went to Florida to bring home money from their US accounts. My cousin never saw any of it. He encouraged her to sell the duplex she lived in. Slowly he used up all the money. He didn’t have a job. He would whine to her that he needed money so of course she gave him. She went shopping with her DIL and paid. She thought she had so much. Slowly the money was spent. When she finally woke up and took over her affairs it was too late. So now her car might be seized because she can’t make the payments. No one wants to help her. Her brothers tell her to talk to her son. Her DIL paid for the car rental for a few months but now has stopped. Her brothers tell her to get rid of the car. She is really 
desperate!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t know how to help her except by talking to her and spending some time with her. My hubby thinks she should just accept her situation and deal with it. Maybe she does have to move, ask for welfare etc.
I wish I could talk to her son and DIL but I don’t think I should.
 I don’t know if anything would change. Maybe his story would be very different.
I just feel so sad for her her and think about how it would be if I was in her position.

Dear cousin’s son,

I don’t know what I would say to you if we ever met. I guess I would want to BALL you out but hopefully I would first ask for your side of the story? Anyhow since I don’t know your side and probably never will I just want to say:  How can you live with yourself? Do you know that your mother is suffering? Do you know that she is deep in debt and has no one to turn to and no place to go? Not only doesn’t she have enough money to live on because of you but she has no family except you and yours. You do her a big favour and invite her over once in a great while. I am so frustrated and angry. You might tell me a different story but the end is the same. You took your Mother’s money and spent it. She has nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One day I hope you will understand what she has gone through because of you.  You should hide your face in shame. You have no job! Your wife supports you. I am surprised that she hasn’t thrown you out. What does she need you for? Are you good in bed? Anyhow son I will never forgive you for what you have done to your mother. She is suffering so much thanks to you. 

Log in to write a note
September 2, 2012

That is so awful. The one person you are supposed to trust with everything…your child. People just amaze me sometimes with what they are willing to do to others.

September 4, 2012

did you send that?

September 4, 2012

I am glad you did not. Sometimes parents and children need to speak to each other and sort it. It seems to me this person is a bully and he needs to stop taking from the person who gave him life.