DEVASTATION

I SHOULD NOT COMPLAIN!
EVER AGAIN!
I AM WATCHING THE NEWS!
I SEE SICK PEOPLE BEING TRANSFERRED FROM ONE HOSPITAL TO ANOTHER.
I JUST CAN’T BELIEVE WHAT PEOPLE ARE GOING THROUGH. 
I CAN’T RELATE!
I SIT IN MY CONDO WITH POWER, HEAT ETC. 
I AM AT LOOSE ENDS BECAUSE I AM NOT SURE WHEN I SHOULD LEAVE FOR FLORIDA.
I AM SURE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WOULD WANT MY "PROBLEMS."
I WENT TO THE GYNO THE OTHER MORNING. SHE TOOK ANOTHER PAP SMEAR AND I WILL KNOW IN A WEEK IF I NEED TO HAVE ANY OTHER TREATMENT. I WILL NOT THINK ABOUT IT. 
I started to wonder if I have a "nervous" stomach as I have a lot of diarrhea. I seem to be relaxed but I’m not. My family doctor lowered my METAPHORMIN but it didn’t change anything.
Hubby and I do NOT agree at all about money and never will. The other day we went to pick up our grandchildren. I explained to him that we would probably go to the Dollar store so the children could pick a treat. He could NOT understand why I have to buy them something every time I take them. Well why not?????????????????????????It’s not that he is selfish. He gives them money every year for their future. We just have different ideas on giving them stuff. I tried to explain that I enjoy letting them choose a chocolate bar etc and I am sure they look forward to me buying them something. What’s the harm?
He wanted to know how much money I had in my "piggy" bank. I probably had about 1000 but I saved it over many months. I explained to him that I would never tell him because he would complain that I had too much money and he shouldn’t have to give me any for the trip down south etc. I believe I saved it so I should be able to enjoy the "fruits of my labour."
I went to the ear. nose and throat doctor. He said there was no wax in my ears so when I come back from Florida I should have my hearing tested.
So far we will be leaving on Friday morning. I will stop in Albany the first day and then drive to the 81. It will be a new route for me…………………I am so tempted to stay here another week but I have been packing and getting very restless. I made a big mistake because I stopped going swimming a few weeks ago. I was busy with doctors etc. but I could have made time. I didn’t want to be under stress. Now without the swimming I have had too much free time. Again I should not/will not complain.
Today I will go to CAA for the latest information on travelling. I also have some "charity" cans to give in. They aren’t full but it will do more good if they have the money whatever the 
amount. I have to pack my car!

110 homes were destroyed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my GOD!!! Is there a place to donate some money?

Stay safe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Log in to write a note
November 1, 2012

Storms like this really do make us count our blessings. Have a safe trip south.

November 1, 2012

Each area of the country has its own devastating weather. I’m glad I don’t live where a hurricane can come thru.

November 1, 2012

yes, you can donate to the american red cross. i’m not sure of the address but, i’m sure you could look it up. take care,

November 1, 2012

I would donate to Red Cross, they are already there and need more donations! Safe Travels

November 1, 2012

I find it easy to complain until I am reminded of others and how much better I have it. I am truly blessed and need to keep that in the front of my head at ALL times. Stay safe.

November 1, 2012

That storm was horrible. I made sure to count my Blessings as we had such a nice warm, comfortable day here in Colorado. My thoughts though are with those who lost homes and family in that devastating storm. Love,

November 1, 2012

The Red Cross is the best place to donate, there are a lot of scam artists out there claiming to be helping but pocketing the money…beware!

I agree – we live such lives of privelege! Our electricity was out for 24 hours and that was just nothing compared to what so many people went through. What makes me sad though is that these types of storms and numbers of deaths happen all the time in tropical countries. There was devastation in Haiti (54 deaths!) with Sandy too, but all we see is America on the news. 🙁

I really agree with your husband on buying treats because of all the negative effects. First it teaches them to be happy from getting ‘stuff’. So in the future when they’re down they’ll just go shopping for ‘stuff’ to feel better. Secondly, junk food is just that, it’s junk. It does nothing good for them, only bad. And other dollar store treats… cheap plastic garbage made in China, just more

garbage for the landfill in a week or two. If your gift to them is time and love and life experiences (doesn’t have to cost money, just free events at local art galleries, festivals, etc), is that not enough? Another reason: all these ‘treats’ add up, and you’re wanting to save money.

I really do mean all this respectfully… I know you are a wonderfully loving and generous grandmother!! Just thought I’d make an effort at helping you understand your hubby’s perspective! 🙂

I am praying your second Pap will have good results. I have been praying for all involved with Sandy in any way. It was so terrible. I don’t think getting the grandkids a small treat when you take them out, is a big deal. Take good care, and when you leave on your trip, be careful and I pray you’ll have good weather all the way. BigHUgz.

You have a plate full of worries and concerns that are very ‘real’ and ‘legitimate’ and yet, your instinct is to set aside your worries and offer compassion and care to others. What a wonderful example you are for all of us.