IT’S OVER!

My friend died tonight about 8:15. I am sorry to say I wasn’t there. I was on my way. I had stopped to buy coffee and maybe some doughnuts. My friend’s daughters LOVED Tim Horton’s coffee. I wish I had gone earlier. I wasn’t thinking! One of his daughters told me that she had told my friend that I was coming to sing him some songs. I wish I had been there. Anyhow no turning back. I got a call while I was stopped at the mall that he had died. I decided to go to the hospital anyways because I was just a few blocks away. Many of the family were there.

Free Blog Poll

I sat with them. I tried to help them cope. The two daughters were basket cases. Anyhow he was taken downstairs about ten. We cleaned up the room and finally left. My "job" is over! I will do my best to support my friend and keep in touch as much as I can. She does have a big family but there is nothing like friends. I think we became very close during the four months he was in the hospital. I will have to keep her in mind now that she is alone. One of her daughters were upset because she has no single friends. In our group it doesn’t matter. It’s just a matter of THINKING OF OTHERS!!!!!!! 

Tomorrow I start volunteering at the dermatologist’s office. I hope I can make a difference.

I realize that I enjoy/love helping others. Yesterday one of the women playing Canasta got super upset!!!!!! I wish I had gone over to the table and see what was happening. She was waiting for a lift home and getting angrier by the minute. When I finished playing I asked her where she lived. It turns out she lives in a senior home where I had to drop off some books. Well I told her I would take her home and kill two birds with one stone. She was so relieved and happy!!!!

The senior home was very nice – very expensive!!!!  I tried to calm her down as we drove. I got her to sing a song for me!!!!

The woman I dropped off the books for was very pleasant. She has had two heart attacks lately. I felt sad. She has no children and no husband. She is a friend of my friend who doesn’t go out. Maybe I’ll go back to visit again. She was friendly and happy to have someone to talk to.

So it’s 2:51. I’m going back to bed.

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2013

You do so much to help and support your friends! You are the best kind of friend to have, :o) !! hugs, Nicky

June 11, 2013

i’m so sorry that you were not able to be there when your friend passed on. Many hugs to you.

You really are a blessing to your friends!! So thoughtful. I hope the volunteering is fulfilling for you, too.

June 11, 2013

Your friend will appreciate your friendship and support.

June 11, 2013

I’m so sorry about your friend.

June 11, 2013

I am sorry to hear of your loss, you are a kind and caring person to help out others who are mourning.

June 11, 2013

So many elderly need visits. So sorry you weren’t there when your friend passed on. Volunteering is a wonderful thing to do. I used to do a lot of that. Still do some volunteering. Love,

June 11, 2013

I am so sorry for the loss of your friend and that’s great that you were there for your friends family.

** gentle hugs **

June 11, 2013

I’m so sorry for your loss. You are a good friend to many!

June 12, 2013

I am so sorry! Giving to others always helps you cope.

June 12, 2013

I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend. Sounds like you’re helping a lot of people in a lot of ways and I think that’s making you much happier!!! That’s great!!!

June 12, 2013

Sorry for your loss.