MY DAUGHTER CALLED-ok

I was pleasantly surprised when my daughter called tonight. I spoke to her Tuesday but it was fast. I mentioned to her that I was "sad, glad and mad" that it took her so long to return my call. I called her on the weekend. Anyway we had a good chat tonight. She told me about one of her friends who is suppose to get married in June. Her friend is having second thoughts. She has always lived at home. She does work full time. Apparently her fiancee seems to be getting more religious and SHE is not interested. I think they talked about compromising but what will happen when they have kids or get married for that matter. One will want to be religious and do religious stuff and the other won’t want to. THAT WILL MEAN MAJOR PROBLEMS. I told my daughter she should tell her friend NOT to get married NOW. I think there are probably other issues too. Apparently her friend moved in with her fiancee for awhile and then moved back home. I HOPE AND PRAY THIS GIRL DOES NOT GET MARRIED. So my daughter ends the call by saying so what? Nowadays you get married for a few years, get divorced remarried etc etc. That might Be OK BUT NOT IF YOU HAVE KIDS!!!!!!!!

Log in to write a note
May 9, 2007

It’s sad that kids think that it’s so easy to get married then divorced, little do they realize the emotional part that goes with divorce, especially if there are kids involved. It’s too easy for divorce sometimes. I hope that girl doesn’t get married either, sounds like they aren’t ready for it. Have a good rest of the week. >^..^<

May 9, 2007

Marriages are too emotionally disposable these days. *sigh*

May 9, 2007

marriage should be considered a permanent committment unless unforeseen circumstances happen, but to go into it with reservations is not a good idea. If the fiance is so extreme in his religious views that could create major issues…I do hope they think it through properly first. Glad your daughter called….I know that means a lot to you. hugs P

I suspect that it may look to young people like you can just get married and divorced, but when it comes down to it, it is VERY painful. I would not want a life with that much pain. Besides pain, there is a lot of financial loss for everybody. You are so right to advise her to tell her friend NOT to get married now.

May 10, 2007

You gave good advice, but kids usually do whatever they want to do anyway, alas. People should not get married if they have any doubts whatsoever. That would mean a lot fewer people getting married! But it would also mean fewer getting divorced, I reckon. hugs, Weesprite

May 10, 2007

I do feel that people think it is easy to get divorced and no big deal anymore. What they do not see is the emotional devastation that divorce brings. Tell your daughter that I have been divorced for a year and a half and I am STILL not over it nor are my kids. I personally think that getting married too young is a big mistake these days. People are living longer, I could not imagine being with the same person for 50 or 60 years! Of course that won’t happen to me now but I am never going to get married again anyway. I could not take that heartache again. It would finish me off.

May 10, 2007

Sad to hear that marriage is being taken so lightly. And you are right NOT WHEN YOU HAVE KIDS! Divorce is awful on the children, I know first hand.

It is much easier to get married than it is to get divorced. I haven’t been divorced, but I have witnessed many of them. I’m sure anyone who is mature enough to consider marriage would be mature enough to realize that divorce is a very costly option, both financially and emotionally…even without kids involved.

May 10, 2007

People my age don’t take marriage seriously… it’s sad, really. 🙁

May 10, 2007

It’s tough to say what’s better…staying married because you HAVE kids and letting them see all the discord and who knows what else, or getting a divorce. For me, it meant no more physical abuse. Life sudddenly became peaceful and serene. Yes, it was tough. But worth it. I didn’t go into marraige thinking it would end that way, but I have to tell you, 11 years later I was grateful there wasan out.