MY SON

I feel so sad for my son. This is my eldest son. He lives alone in a  large home. Not so terrible but he is alone so much. He has few friends. he is a loner – is not that sociable. He didn’t have a job for over a year. Then one of our friend’s son hired him. It seemed too good to be true. But it went from bad to worse! His boss treated him like dirt and was constantly degrading him. He stuck with it. Last week his boss told him that he has to cut his salary by 15,000!!!!!!!!! He could stay on at this lower salary or leave. So now my son has a month to work and then he will be out of work. I am worried because he definitely is not a go-getter and I am not sure he will find another job. I wish I knew what went wrong. I wonder if my son wasn’t capable of doing the work. I just don’t know. I do know that he is a hard worker. I would love to ask his boss but of course I can’t so I’ll never know the truth.

Log in to write a note

I actually think you SHOULD ask his boss. Ordinarily I’d say no, but the job was offered because of you being a friend, so … I think you’d feel better if you found out (not that he would tell you the truth, but you could try…).

September 21, 2010

I agree with your first note. It might be something that needs checked out. I know this is hard. We always worry about our children even after they are grown. Love,

September 21, 2010

I’d ask your friend. It’s so awkward when things go wrong and a friend or relative is involved. I know you care about your son.

September 21, 2010

Your son sounds a lot like my one daughter, not a go getter at all. Not everyone is. I think there is a certain point in their lives that we just have to let them be and fend for themselves. My daughter is only 20 though but she is going to have to figure something out soon as I can’t keep supporting her. I hope your son can get another job.

September 21, 2010

such a pity your son doesn’t communicate with you better….. as its hard not to worry. I hope it works out for the best whatever happens next. hugs P

September 21, 2010

Just {{{HUGS}}}

Perhaps instead of quitting the job, your son might take the 15,000 pay cut and keep that job WHILE he searches for another job. Then he still has some salary, some activity and still can hunt for a job on his lunch hour or on his days off. (We found a job on our lunch hour many many years ago so it is possible to do so).

We do not agree with the notes because we do not know the age of your son. IF your son is over 21 or 22 , then we would not ask the boss anything. best to let your son be independent. If you need to know then ask your son. IF your son is a teen, then I might ask the boss, but since the salary is high we are guessing your son is older. We have read entries about your married son but we do not know if this is the son that you speak of. Let your son have his privacy IF he is over 21 , legal age, it is not your place to talk to the boss, (lol unless you are married to the boss that’s different) peace.