NEW YORK – DAY ONE-ok

So yesterday was our first full day in New York. We woke early. We planned to go have breakfast at MacDonald’s but we were surprised that it doesn’t open until ten. WHAT??????
Anyhow we found another restaurant and had breakfast – nothing exciting but food. Then we took a taxi to Ground Zero. We saw a tribute that just opened. It was heart wrenching! There were moving stories from survivors. There were pictures from people who were looking for their loved ones. OY!
Then we went across the street to CENTURY 21 which is a large discount department store. To me it is like TJ MAXX. We didn’t buy anything. Then we took another taxi to Canal street. I went into Pearl’s art store. My cousin and sister were suppose to walk slowly down the street looking in stores and I would catch up to them!! Well they sat down at a restaurant a few doors away from Pearls. I walked out another door. To make a long story short we lost each other. In the end I wasn’t sorry at all. I bought a bunch of purses. They are all cheap knock offs. I also bought DVD’s  of the latest movies for five dollars. Of course it is all illegal!!!!
I took a taxi back to the hotel about five. We went for supper at Broadway Joe’s. I had yummy lamb chops. Then we went to a comedy club. There were a few comedians. Two were very funny!
We had coffee at Maxie’s. Then it started RAINING. We waited and waited. Finally we just walked back to the hotel.
I am disappointed that my cousin is cheap! I wanted to see a play last night but they just didn’t seem interested. Another reason I really rather travel alone. My cousin won’t go to the bathroom alone.
This morning we have to go back to Canal street. Then we will go to the Modern Museum, do some more shopping and finally to see Hairspray. I hope to find a needlepoint store and maybe another paper store where I can buy some journals. Toys r us too.
So better get ready. What will today hold in store??
New York? New York??????????? What a wonderful town!

Log in to write a note
October 5, 2006

My travelling companion on one of my NY trips was also cheap and it was a nuisance. She did not want to eat at the nice restaurants. And that is part of the NY experience. Expensive yes but WONDERFUL. I like being able to make my own decisions about these things, about what is worth what to me.

October 5, 2006

Getting lost does give you the quality time you so wanted my friend. Good for you and if you are not happy again just disappear again for a short while anyway. Enjoy the rest of your trip my friend. HUGS and HUGSxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Sounds like a wonderful trip so far! Don’t you miss FAO Schwarz?

October 5, 2006

I’ve never been to NYC but hope to someday. It sounds delightful! 🙂

October 5, 2006

If your cousin wanted a cheap vacation, she shouldn’t have gone to NY because nothing is cheap there. The same goes for Chicago, very expensive but the restaurants are fabulous and the shopping as well. I still haven’t made it to Ground Zero yet. Not sure I want to see it, not sure I can take it really. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

How interesting. Illegal things in plain view? I think I’d rather you do and then tell me about it! 🙂 Have fun.

October 5, 2006

illegal dvd’s, tut tut!!! lol glad you are having a good time, hugs P

October 6, 2006

Thanks for the report on NY NY! It must be quite something to be there …

🙂 Hope you have a totally awesome time and that they agree to do some things YOU want to!!!!! Big Hugzzz..