SAD

I realize that often I am negative. That is just the way I am. I try to hold back my negative thoughts from others but in my diary I let it all "hang loose."
There is a woman who swims at the pool. This morning I saw her step on the scale. I just got so upset!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just couldn’t hold myself back. I mentioned to her daughter that I couldn’t understand why she was weighing herself.  She was there with her daughter. I don’t know how old this woman is but she lived through the HOLOCAUST. SHE WAS IN AUSHWITZ and possibly other concentration camps. Now why should she worry about her weight. Does she forget when she had nothing to eat? Does she forget when she weighed nothing?????????? I wish I could get rid of every scale in the world. We are just too obsessed with weight and how we look. It ruins young girls lives and many women. Now I am not condoning being FAT and OBESE.
I just wish that mothers would control the food they bring into the house. If it was all "healthy" then they wouldn’t have to monitor what their children are eating. If they kept their family active it would also help their children’s weight. PLEASE WOMEN THROW AWAY YOUR SCALES. BE ACTIVE. JOIN SOME SPORT THAT YOU WOULD ENJOY. TAKE WALKS WITH YOUR FAMILY AS A ROUTINE PART OF THE DAY. 
I guess the problem is that women and mothers are working and have little time for exercise etc. I am sad about this. I am sad that people constantly monitor what they eat. Each person has a set weight and no matter how much you diet and exercise you will probably always be the same weight.

Set-Point Theory

• According to the set-point theory, there is a control system built into every person dictating how much fat he or she should carry – a kind of thermostat for body fat. Some individuals have a high setting, others have a low one. According to this theory, body fat percentage and body weight are matters of internal controls that are set differently in different people.

• The set-point theory was originally developed in 1982 by Bennett and Gurin to explain why repeated dieting is unsuccessful in producing long-term change in body weight or shape. Going on a weight-loss diet is an attempt to overpower the set point, and the set point is a seemingly tireless opponent to the dieter.

• The ideal approach to weight control would be a safe method that lowers or raises the set point rather than simply resisting it. So far no one knows for sure how to change the set point, but some theories exist. Of these, regular exercise is the most promising: a sustained increase in physical activity seems to lower the setting (Wilmore et al. 1999).

• According to the set-point theory, the set point itself keeps weight fairly constant, presumably because it has more accurate information about the body’s fat stores than the conscious mind can obtain. At the same time, this system pressures the conscious mind to change behavior, producing feelings of hunger or satiety. Studies show that a person’s weight at the set point is optimal for efficient activity and a stable, optimistic mood. When the set point is driven too low, depression and lethargy may set in as a way of slowing the person down and reducing the number of calories expended.

• The set point, it would appear, is very good at supervising fat storage, but it cannot tell the difference between dieting and starvation. The dieter who begins a diet with a high set point experiences constant hunger, presumably as part of her body’s attempt to restore the status quo. Even dedicated dieters often find that they cannot lose as much weight as they would like. After an initial, relatively quick loss, dieters often become stuck at a plateau and then lose weight at a much slower rate, although they remain as hungry as ever.

• Dieting research demonstrates that the body has more than one way to defend its fat stores. Long-term caloric deprivation, in a way that is not clear, acts as a signal for the body to turn down its metabolic rate. Calories are burned more slowly, so that even a meager diet almost suffices to maintain weight. The body reacts to stringent dieting as thought famine has set in. Within a day or two after semi-starvation begins, the metabolic machinery shifts to a cautious regimen designed to conserve the calories it already has on board. Because of this innate biological response, dieting becomes progressively less effective, and (as generations of dieters have observed) a plateau is reached at which further weight loss seems all but impossible.

Adapted from Integrative Group Treatment for Bulimia Nervosa by Helen Riess, M.D. and Mary Dockray-Miller Questions about this topic? Contact the Center for Health Promotion and Wellness

So it’s time for lunch.  Have a healthy day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 14, 2012

I don’t weigh myself anymore. I go by how my clothes fit. I try to eat healthy and exercise everyday, so I am doing fine.

I don’t weigh but I should. We are an obese nation. We need to get a grip. I need to be like I was when I was young — active! We aren’t forced into that any more. Lets get active and eat less — then we won’t need to weigh.

February 14, 2012

Do you mind if I tell you a similar story? I was in the fitting room one day at Target and a daughter (~16 years old) came out of her dressing room to model a dress for her mother. The dress was similar to the famous, white Marilyn Monroe dress. Except, this dress that the girl was trying on was red with white polka dots. Anyway, that kind of dress looks best on busty women and hides a tummy well.This girl, however, did not have much of a bust or much of a tummy. She was 16! She’s not suppose to have a lot of curves yet. But, instead of the mother saying, “That dress isn’t meant for your body. Let’s find another”, she said, “Oh, it’s a shame. That dress would be perfect if you had more up top.” The daughter asked, in a tone of voice that said she’d been asking for this for the millionth time, if her mom would please, please, please let her get her boob job earlier. The mother sat back and critically looked at her daughter (whose body was perfect!!) and said with a conspiratory sigh, “Well, I’ll talk to your father. We’ll see.” continued…

February 14, 2012

I just couldn’t believe it!!! They left the dressing room in mental state of defeat because the daughter’s body wouldn’t fit the dress right!! WHAT IS WRONG WITH THOSE PEOPLE?!?! Fashion should suit the woman’s body, not vice versa!!! What is wrong with us? Why are we raising our daughters this way?

February 14, 2012

Interesting entry – never heard of the set-point theory. Best wishes, A

February 14, 2012

I didn’t lose any weight UNTIL I got a scale because I just buried my head in the sand & wouldn’t face it – until it got to the point I had to do something. Now I weigh myself every morning; if it goes up a bit, then I know to watch myself that day. No big pressure, just a subtle reminder that I need to pay attention.