SAD AND SCARY

Yesterday I met an acquaintance. He is someone we are friendly with but see very little. I asked him if he is planning his trip to Florida. He told me they are not going this year. When I asked him why, he told me that his wife needs “treatment.” I did not ask for further details. I was so shocked and upset. I know that no one knows what will happen tomorrow. I guess that is why I get so upset when my hubby wants to put off doing anything and everything.
When we talk about making a budget he asks me how long do we budget for. How do I know? Till we’re 80?? Till we’re 90??????
We are planning to have our fiftieth wedding anniversary next May. Our anniversary is December 22, 2013. My son wanted to have the party before we leave for Florida. It would have to be in October. I just wasn’t comfortable with that. It seemed to be too rushed. We are going to Toronto in two weeks so I didn’t really want to go back so soon. I am also not sure I want a party. I thought that maybe we should keep that money for our trip to Florida.
Another idea I had is to have the party and then leave for a trip. I suggested a GOLF and SPA holiday. I told him maybe he can take a buddy and I would too. The trouble is he wants to take his good friend. I am not comfortable to take his good friend’s girlfriend. They are the couple that got together after they lost their spouses about two years ago. Anyhow I guess we don’t have to decide now. My other idea is to just go to Israel. I guess he can play golf their too.
I wish I knew why I am so drawn to Israel. Years ago it was because I wanted to become religious. Now I don’t, so I am not sure what is drawing me there.
Yesterday I was planning to go swimming but I decided to stop at the mall first. I had diarrhoea so I decided not to go swimming. Instead I did some shopping. I bought chicken for Friday night’s supper. I picked up the book I had ordered for my daughter’s friend. I went into the store that sells hearing aids and talked to one of the people there about getting a hearing aid. I am going to check out a few more places before making a decision. I went to a Dollar store and bought 30 containers. Not all Dollar stores have them. I plan to take 15 to Florida. I couldn’t find them there. I bought some fish and chicken livers. We had the fish last night and will have the chicken livers tonight.
I came home and was busy knitting. I just hope I am doing it right. I will go check it out at the store today – after swimming.
I had a long nap, made supper, knit some more etc.
In the evening I watched I LOVE LUCY and did more knitting. I will be so excited to finish some of my knitting projects.
I am busy planning our trip to Toronto. Friday night we will go to my cousin for supper. Her son will be there with his children. Saturday morning we will go visit hubby’s brother. Not sure for the rest of the day. I’ll probably spend part of the day with my sister. Saturday night we might go to my daughter’s for supper although I want to take my nephew out for supper if they are in town. Sunday is the party for hubby’s brother. He’ll be 80 and his wife 75!!!!!!!!! Hubby might leave after with my son and I’ll stay till Wednesday. I am not sure yet.
So I have been busy and happy. Maybe that’s the secret for me.

Log in to write a note
August 15, 2013

I love watching the I love Lucy shows. She sure had talent. Love,

August 15, 2013

Lucy’s shows are still good, even after all these years have passed.

I hope your friend’s treatment helps her.

August 16, 2013
August 16, 2013

What are you knitting? Your schedule does sound busy and when it comes to planning future goals my dad always used to say it is best to plan both long term and short term goals…..I guess he thought if you didn’t make it to the last term goal at least you would have achieved some shorter ones and feel satisfied. BTW Chicken livers may not be the best thing to eat when you have an upset stomach….just a thought. take care, hugs p