SHOPPING AND MORE SHOPPING – OK

TODAY I spent the day with five other women. We drove to Burlington, Vermont. First thing we did was go to the Christmas Store. First I went to the quilting store and was very disappointed. First of all there was only a very young saleslady who knew nothing about quilting. What type of owner leaves a stupid saleslady in a store on Saturday??? I looked aorund and left. The other problem I had with the store was that they had a lot of patterrns for stuff such as dresses and purses etc but not for quilts.Maybe that’s what other quilters are into.
Anyhow I met my friends at the Christmas store. Again I was disappointed. I bought a wide mouth jar to store some varnish for my eggs.
We left and went to the Mall where we had lunch. Then I left to go to Joanns where I bought a pattern and some fabric. Problem with the quilt I want to make is that I couldn’t find the instructions in the book. I think there is only a picture. I’ll try to wing it.
Then I went to the mall and walked around. I bought some sweat pants for my grandsons at Penneys. I looked around for clothes and purses for myself but nothing interested me. I also went into Sears and Bon Ton. Finally I went into the toy store and of course bought some stuff for my grandchildren.
We discussed what we would do next. Some would have been happy to go home but I wasn’t ready so we went downtown. I went to the art store and found a kit for Ukranian eggs. I can’t wait to try it.
The women kept telling me they would do whatever I wanted. How could I shlep five women to Michaels when NONE of them are interested in crafts? How could I take them to Barnes and Noble when none of them are interested?
Then it was time to discuss where to eat supper? We finally agreed on Olive Garden. When we drove over there was an hour wait. We decided to drive across the street to Pizza Hut. The service was TERRIBLE! We waited over an hour. One of my friends got them to give us breadsticks and another got them to take 50% off the bill. Who can complain of paying five dollars for a meal??? Pizza Hut is always slow but this was ridiculous. The I got myself into trouble as usual. The original bill was about thirty. They took off fifty% so we paid about 18. They left a six dollar tip. I thought it wasn’t enough so I left another three. The worse part was I said that the tip they left was cheap. Why can’t I keep my big mouth shut? I think it is because after a  whole day of keeping my opinions to myself I couldn’t hold my tongue any longer. I know they’ll forgive me but I think I was wrong about how much the tip should be so maybe I should apologize tomorrow. What do you think? These women would sell their children to save a nickel. Ok? I am exaggerating but I think you get the message.
We arrived home about nine thirty and I am more than ready to get some sleep. Good night.

Log in to write a note
August 1, 2009

it seems shopping is your favourite thing, for sure. hugs P

August 2, 2009

Sounds like a rough day for you which is why I shop alone. It’s easier.

August 2, 2009

I always try to go with the flow… I try to remember that generosity always comes back to me, but it IS hard when there’s so little money to go around. ryn: I got two Wiis for my birthday, so that’s why I’m selling one. Yes, I have 5 girls, but only 3 are currently in school, but I’ve got to find activities for my almost 3 year old to do while the others do their work. Of course she thinks she should do school too! So I’m printing out some alphabet sheets, coloring pages and the like. She can participate when we work on money, it’ll help her understand it better when it’s her turn to learn it “for real.” LOL… she will hopefully pick up on a LOT.

Ryn there was a lot of damage. The building is a total loss but luckily there were no injuries.

August 2, 2009

I don’t know about the tip. Like you, I like to tip very BIG tips, but if the service was lousy…. I will not leave a big tip. I guess it all depends on whether the poor service was due to the waitress or due to the kitchen staff, and the waitress was doing all she could to be nice and make up for it, etc. I would HATE going shopping with five women!! UGH! Really my favorite way to go shopping is ALONE! hugs, Weesprite

August 3, 2009

i think it would be difficult to shop with a bunch of other women. i prefer to do it alone. i usually overtip rather than undertip. i know how hard those servers work. take care,