THIS IS THE TRUTH AND NOTHING BUT…

I am definitely not a people person. I do not enjoy being with people and avoid them most of the time. I am not a conversationalist. I never know what to say! I go out of my way to stay away from people. I wouldn’t blame hubby for leaving me. I am just NOT a social animal. 
One of the women here and I tried be friends but the truth is we can’t be. We have nothing in common. We have nothing to talk about. She sat next to me on the ship one night at dinner. We had nothing to talk about so after that she moved to the other side of the table. I don’t blame her.
I am sure it’s me!!!!!! First I hardly ever have anything to say. Second I am not overly friendly. Third I keep to myself. This afternoon we played Mah JONGG. Her and I hardly said a word to each other. In fact we said nothing.
In the end some friends came to the pool. I sat for awhile but at four I left. I should have stayed but I always leave around four to have a nap. Today I should have made an exception but I didn’t. It’s not nice. It’s not friendly. I don’t know why I act like I do. I just do! I have to accept that I am NOT a friendly person. I better not complain that I have no friends. 
In all honesty I have no patience for people so I stay alone. I often make remarks which hurt people especially those who don’t realize I am joking. 
So that’s it. I’m off for my nap.

Log in to write a note
February 9, 2013

Ryn: I’m really liking the Lauraine Snelling books. đŸ™‚ They take place in the early 1900’s in the Dakotas, in a town called Blessing. I unknowingly started in the newest series. When I’m done with the Daughters of Blessing series, I’ll start from the beginning, which starts with the Daughters of Blessings’s grand mother and how she came here from Norway đŸ™‚

February 9, 2013

I am ok with the right people.. But put me with people who I have nothing in common with or who I don’t take to and I come over as very aloof and unfriendly…. Yet I will happily talk to anyone I just don’t have the patience to stick around if I don’t enjoy their company.. Guess that might be perceived as rude. And yes it does mean I spend more time alone.. But like you I would rather be alone than with people I don’t enjoy.

The tea is VERY good, I recommend it.

February 9, 2013

I tend to be a hermit also. I’ve been told that I am very intimidating and look unapproachable. I don’t mean to look that way, it’s genetic. My mother was the same way. If we’re not smiling, we look grumpy. LOL!

February 9, 2013

It’s OK to be you. Not everybody can be out going. Accept who and what you are…..and you will find that it makes your life so much easier.

February 10, 2013

I’m a lot like you in this way. I try to make friends, but I get kind of bored with them or tired of listening to their drama or complaints and I fade away. I’d rather be alone or with my guy. So far in my life I have one friend I love and have had for years, have my honey, my daughter and my mom. That’s about the limit of tolerance. I do like my brothers, but we don’t hang out much. People. Blech

February 11, 2013

It’s strange – I relate so much to this, yet I always used to see myself as a ‘people person’ whereas my husband wasn’t. Somewhere along the line, during 44 years of marriage, he seems to have emerged as ‘more of’ a people person, whereas I’m beginning to find most people pretty boring. However, at some level I feel perhaps it’s connected to being less of a ‘people-pleaser’ – I no longer feel it’salways down to me to keep people entertained, interested!