WHAT DO YOU DO?

 This morning we went to a funeral. It was my DIL’s mother’s best friend. My DIL was very close to this man. Anyhow she flew in to come to the funeral. As we were at the burial I looked over and saw she was standing and crying all alone. I "pushed" myself through the crowd to stand beside her and offer her a hug and my support. I wondered where her family was! Her parents(her father and step mother) were there. Her brother and his wife were there. Also her mother’s friends were there. Didn’t anyone notice this young woman alone and miserable?

Also when someone is in the hospital for an extended time I go and sit with the caregiver. I don’t expect to see the sick person. I know the caregiver needs company.

I wonder how many of you are sensitive to situations like these. 

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2013

I agree with everything you wrote up there. The Caregiver needs support. I usually encourage them to go home for awhile or go to the cafeteria and eat…..anything to get them out of that hospital or nursing home room.

February 15, 2013

I try to be.

February 15, 2013

You are a very nice person! I hate to see you be so hard on yourself here sometimes on OD. You are kind, caring, sensitive, & a good person!

February 15, 2013

When I was the primary carer for my son over the two yrs he had Hodgkin’s Lymphoma I can’t tell you how wonderful it was when someone would ask me how I was doing.. I know from this experience that sick people get a lot of support and love but that their carers need just as much but often go unnoticed… Good for you!

I remember when my mom was being buried, it was a rainy afternoon, and I was standing kind of alone, shivering, crying, and nobody came up to me. My family is not huggy at all, and I think they were all standing there in their own grief. I would have welcomed your hug!! I agree with the noter who said you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself – you have a huge heart!

February 15, 2013

I want to say Thank You for being there for your Daughter in law. That is what I would have done also. You are right the caregiver needs company too. Love,

February 15, 2013

You are more caring than most people. But I think I would’ve gone to offer a hug and support to the crying young woman. I don’t know why her family didn’t! I’m sure glad you were there to do it! hugs, Nicky

February 15, 2013

I can’t understand her family not comforting her. I would have given her a hug too.

February 16, 2013

Good for you for pushing your way to her!! I’m sure she was glad for that extra support and love!

February 16, 2013

You have a kind heart. I remember finding my son crying all alone in the corner when my Dad died. Everyone was so wrapped up in our sorrow that he was able to sneak off without anyone noticing.

February 16, 2013

that young woman needed you there with her. take care,

February 16, 2013

I’m glad you were there to comfort her. 🙂 hugs,

February 16, 2013

I am like that too, I am always there for someone who needs me.

RYN: They are available at Barnes and Noble online, or the store can order it for you. I think it’s easier to fall into negativity when times are difficult. Worrying just doesn’t help. I just finished Runway Romance, the first book in a romance trilogy about flght attendants and I’m about 1/4 of the waythrough When Love’s Gone Country, a sequel to my first romance trilogy. Fun!

So glad you were there to offer care and support. My family would have left me standing alone in tears. I think emotion of any kind makes them uncomfortable.

February 17, 2013

There are many reasons why some people might be alone and only God knows the reasons. Everyone is different and everyone reacts differently. What I have learned is that judging people for what they do or what they do not do, when it comes to hospitals or comes to funerals , sometimes people come up with the wrong conclusions. It is good that you are kind and considerate.