First day

I started the new job today. Man, I am SO tired! I was late this morning… well, I wanted to leave earlier but the power in my room went out, so doing my hair in the kitchen took a little extra time. Then of course the traffic was terrible, and I didn’t have time to look into the public transportation or for a route that didn’t include freeways. It was alright though, a few people were late (and the staff had apparently expected this).

I can’t remember exactly how many new people there were… 21 or 22, mostly my age and mostly women (there were 4 or 5 guys I think). Aside from filling out forms and being told a lot of technical information, we played regular introduction games, as well as something called "human knot"–you basically bunch together and grab 2 other peoples hands and try to untangle everyone. It was interesting, and must have looked even more strange to everyone in downtown San Jose (we had to do this activity in a grassy area outside, of course). Oh, everyone in the program is getting a free cell phone. This new company is apparently experimenting with our group or something, so we have to fill out feedback questionnaires every week or two… but in exchange we get free cell phones (for professional and personal use) that also have GPS tracking. I hear you can turn the tracking device off (so people can’t stalk you?), but we’ll see.

Oh and they also fed us today, which was definitely great. I even managed to bring an apple and banana back with me… I’m a rebel, I know!

After the workday was over me and 3 others (Meghan, Karoline and Marty) walked a few blocks to some Mexican restaurant. I got a huge veggie burrito that tasted okay, but wasn’t nearly as good as the ones at this one small restaurant in Paul’s city. Oh well.

After we did that I didn’t really feel like coming back to the room (and sitting here all day in silence, not wanting to unpack) so I followed Meghan and Karoline back to Meghan’s grandparents’ house. We sat there for like 2-3 hours and I started to get really tired and decided to drive back around 9. Luckily mom was off of work so I got to talk to her on the drive back (and also while I walked from my car to the house in the dark, heh), and she only relaxed once I was in my room with the door locked.

Today is Paul’s (25th!) birthday, and he got to hang out with some dude he knew from high school so I’m happy for him. He’s playing WoW with his brother right now, but hopefully I’ll get to talk to him soon… because I’m tired.

Anyway I’m REALLY out of it right now… sitting around all day really makes it hard to muster up any energy.

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2007

you’re totally a rebel its seems like you had some fun tho so thats good …. i still miss you and that human knot thing is crazy ive done it before.

October 3, 2007

You naughty girl stealing fruit. But you have a phone how awesome is that!

October 3, 2007

Can I just say…I know completely how much sitting all day takes away all your energy. It sucks. I hope the new job goes well!!

October 3, 2007

Hey….glad to hear that your first day was fun…new cell phone w/ GPS capabilities?! (nice) xxx-ooo

October 7, 2007

ryn: I don’t think he’s abusive, it’s more that he just doesn’t think before doing things. Afterwards, if and when we talk about it, we tend to work things out (sometimes) and he tells me that he speaks before thinking. But I will admit, sometimes it does feel like he’s got my emotions in his hand and he doesn’t feel like he has to try anymore. So he plays with them. I’m not sure if that’s true.

October 8, 2007

Ack! I must’ve missed this entry and it got pushed to the bottom. I beg your forgiveness! You stole an apple and a banana! You’re goin to HECK! (not realy, but it’s entertaining) I’m glad the first day of work went relatively smoothly. I hope it’s still going so! ryn: Thank you for the support. And yea, I’ve noticed that with other people’s diaries if I try going to the beginning, too.