5 minutes

everything is still

everything is peaceful                                                                                        

i sit on my bed and take in the quietness

jake sleeps beside me, stretched out in the lazy manner that all cats have

i listen

what is that?

ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHH
SSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

I hear a shower coming

quiet first,

then louder

and LOUDER UNTIL

it is apon us!

"Well that came out of no where!" I think to myself.

Suddenly a quick FLASH

and

CRACK! BOOM!

Jake startles, ears perked up, eyes wide and fur pointing straight.

He looks around, and when finding he is safe,

  immediately falls back into a deep cat sleep.

I always envied that animals can do that.

It always takes me a while to drift off.

Outside I hear the wind start to pick up.

SSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHhhhhhhsssssssSSSSHHHHHHHHHH!

The rain is now hitting hard against my window pane.

"Looks like we’re getting ready for a big one huh Jake?"

I stroke his soft fur.

I hoped it would be. It is not often that we have big storms here.

and how nice it would be to have someone to share it with!

I love them.

Something about them charges my inner soul and makes me want to dance around outside naked, like a wild woman!

But of course, I would never do that.

It’s just the feeling I get.

I smile to myself at the thought. 🙂

then,

just like that,

the shower stops.

The thunder is gone

and the stillness I enjoyed just 5 minutes ago, returns

now leaving me fully disappointed.

It’s funny how I always seem to be let down just as soon as I get my hopes up

Log in to write a note
June 22, 2009

i love pouring rain too, but never thought to dance around naked in em, haha. i can replay that scenario a million times in my head and i only see one outcome: me gettin thrown in jail 😛 moral of the story: “always” and “never” are words ur not supposed to use. ur not always let down, u met ryan stiles 😉 Have a Nice Day!

June 22, 2009

I used to love falling asleep to the sound of rain… I LOVE IT! Watching lightning is really cool too 🙂

June 22, 2009

Hey thanks for your note. I do love Alyssa but right now I think it might be best if I be man (a normal man) and play the field until I find a smart one that understands life ya know.

June 29, 2009

Me too! I’m jealous of my cat who’d startle awake and then a second later she’s Zzzzzzz. I think it’s because their minds are serenely quiet. Because of their cognitive (dis)abilities compared to a human being. Thanks for your note, I just read it today. Have a good one.

June 30, 2009

i wish i lived in washington.