Happy Birthday Kristi!

Today was my dear friend Kristi’s Birthday and her parents let us use their time share in Lake Chelan! By us I mean myself, Wynn, Brandon, Andrew, Travis, Carla, Emily, and Kristi of course. It’s not very often that all of the adult friends can get together these days due to our jobs, kids, relationships, etc… but we made it work and it was a blast!

We spent most of the day at the ski lodge and it was so gorgeous. I don’t snowboard or Ski so I decided to see if there were any hiking trails nearby. Nobody wanted to join me so I went on a solo hike. Of course I let everyone know where I was going first. The hike was called Lake Clara and even though I had no snow shoes I had plenty of experience hiking in snow from my days growing up in Alaska, so up I went! Thankfully many snowshoers has gone beside me and their footsteps had packed the snow down some which made it more solid for me t to walk on.

It was a beautiful winter wonderland. Thick icing layers of snow on every tree. Blankets of thick sparkling marshmallow everywhere you looked. Just white as far as you could see. And it was so quiet. Not even a bird was chirping. All I could hear was the crunch crunch crunch of my boots as I trudged onward. I was berry grateful for those who hiked before me because much of the trail was hidden and if it were not for the tracks I may have not known the right direction to go! Thank goodness I also had a trail map with me from the lodge office.

The trail was only supposed to be a little over a mile, but it seemed like it took forever! I figured it was because the snow really slowed me down. The summit was supposed to be a lake, and when I finally arrived I found out that the lake was completely hidden by layers of snowfall. Either way, the whole trail was magical! I literally felt like I had gone through the wardrobe into Narnia and that the ice queen was about to appear!

I ran the trail this time, going down was a cinch and I was back just as everyone was returning from the slope. We headed into town for Kristi’s Birthday dinner at a very authentic Italian restaurant where I had the most luscious, rich creamy white wine butter sauce I ever tasted on a pasta. I wanted to lick the plate clean.

After dinner we headed back to the time share and played a game called things where the person who’s turn it is draws a card that says something like “things you don’t say to your dentist” and receive writes down something privately, folds it and have it to the reader who is not allowed to guess.  Then everyone has to guess who writer what in order to get points. It’s super fun and funny!

I love my fun friendly funny friends. They are the best. I’m lucky to have such awesome people in my life.

 

 

Log in to write a note