Ice cream

Today I made ice cream for the first time. I had always wanted to make it and was even given a beautiful ice cream maker for Christmas, but for some reason I just never got around to doing it. Now that I’ve been taking a hiatus from social media, I have time to focus on enjoying some fun activities instead of scrolling.  So out came the maker.

My sister recently found out  she has degenerative disk disease and just the other day she had to go to the ER because she severely strained lumbar ligaments in her back. Shes at home in bed on pain meds so I decided I would bring her favorite flavor of ice cream. Coffee! To make it even better I added fudge, but not just any fudge. If you’ve ever had tilamook mudslide ice cream then you know how good the fudge in it is. So what did I do? I bought two tubs of it, dug all of the fudge out, and discarded the rest. For the coffee flavor I used instant.

I actually made the custard yesterday and put it in the fridge overnight, but today is when I made the custard into ice cream. The hardest part of the whole process was hammering the ice into smaller bits ( that was required in the instructions). Other than that everything was quite simple and within 15 minutes I had ice cream!!!!!!

Now, let me tell you something. I’m an ice cream fanatic. I’ve been to so many ice cream shops and have tried so many brands. I’m an ice cream snob. I thought that surely the ice cream I made could not stand a chance compared to places like Salt and Straw. Well I took one bite and my eyes about rolled to the back of my head it was so luscious. I outdid myself. Heck. I outdid everyone. This was THE BEST ice cream I had ever had in my life!!!!! How was it possible for it to be that creamy? That smooth? That rich in flavor?

I put it into two containers and immediately popped them in the freezer. Tomorrow I’ll get some dry ice and bring it to my sister. She’s going to be amazed and I hope it brings a smile to her face.

 

Log in to write a note