The Fourth Of July!

Was okay. Not bad, Nothing SPECTACULAR, but not bad! ðŸ™‚

I had to work a wedding that was decorated as if it was the coolest fourth of july party ever, but a wedding none the less…so that made it seem a bit tacky. The guests were surprisingly low key and bores for being young. Half of them left early. We didn’t get off until 8 so of course it was fucking nutso in down town Port Orchard Trying to find a spot to park and see the firework show!  I was with Liz and Bryton. We finally decided to screw it and go back to my house to get the fireworks my parents bought and just shoot those off down by the lake. Well we may not have had everyone with us, but we still had fun and we got a better show on the lake than we would have down town! Everyone around the lake was setting them off like crazy! 

We were sitting out at the end of the dock shooting ours off and watching when suddenly we heard a rustling behind us in a bush. We looked and 3 or 4, maybe even 5, big animals came out of the bushes and started across the lawn. We couldn’t tell what they were but we knew they were too big to be cats and certainly didn’t look like dogs.

A firework suddenly lit up the area and they were raccoons!

The creepy thing is that they were just sitting there starring at us. Not moving at all, and staring RIGHT AT US. Then one of them decides to come over the dock and sit at the other end…..

I had never been scared of a raccoon before, but this one was big and it certainly didn’t seem shy. We thought for a second it was going to come down to where we were, but after a few seconds it just left and went back into the bushes.

It was funny, also the bats were coming sooooo close to us! I’d be talking to Liz and Bryton and I’d see a bat come flying behind them an inch from their head and turn abruptly. They didn’t even know! I could probably catch one easily at night because they get so close, but there’s no way I want to get rabies or anything else for that matter. I still think they are neat creatures though.

So yeah that was pretty much it for the fourth! It was also the last night house sitting with Liz at her cousins. It’s been so nice to be able to spend more time with my girls these days since they are back from school ^_^

Well, Jen isn’t, but I have still seen a lot more of her than I normally do so that makes me happy! Alrighty nighty night.

Hanny

Log in to write a note
July 10, 2009

You gotta be careful with those raccoons. They are very mean and not scared of people at all. They will mess you up bad. And they are creepy cause they have little human hands.