Felt Like Writing :-)

I don’t even know why I bother to keep this online diary except for the fact that I would miss the diaries I still read. Today I thought I’d come let everyone know I’m still alive :-).

Our summer was quiet and for the most part it was just Kinley, Landon and I here. Stephen was in Ohio working on the pipeline with my Dad, Kaylyn was with her friends a LOT and Jose’ at work. We got the pool so I didn’t take them swimming as much as I did last summer. We were happy to just be home with no schedule.

So, a recap of our summer…

In June Kaylyn had a wreck and totalled her car. She was very lucky and had her seatbelt on so wasn’t hurt but it was very scary. Jose’ found her another car with a low monthly payment. We didn’t want to have another payment but since she was planning on going to another school and needed a way back and forth to that and to her job we had to do something.

The end of June Kinley, Landon and I went with my sister to Ohio to see Daddy, my stepmother and Stephen. My sister’s husband is also there working. It was a 16 hour drive and we drove straight through. I gave the kids Bonine for motion sickness and Landon slept over halfway there…that was good! Unfortunately that didn’t happen on the way home and he only slept a few hours out of 16 :-0. It was a fun trip and the weather there was beautiful…so cool for that time of year. I loved getting to spend some time with Stephen and see where he was staying. Here is Stephen with my Daddy on the pipeline…

photobucket

Stephen and Landon…

photobucket

We got a new pet, Buddy. Some boys were giving puppies away in the Walmart parking lot and Buddy was the only brown puppy. So, without asking Jose’ if it was okay, Kaylyn and I brought him home. He’s part lab and part chow. I have never liked dogs, really didn’t like them, but I love Buddy. He’s good for Landon and gets LOTS of attention from him. Kids with Asperger’s do good with animals so we thought it would be good for Landon to have a dog…that’s the main reason I got him.

landon and buddy

photobucket

In August Jose’ and I took the two little ones to Eureka Springs, AR. Kaylyn didn’t go because she had a summer job and honestly, I just don’t think she wanted to go. That was fine with us because nothing can ruin a vacation faster than a teenager who doesn’t want to be there. It was neat because we stayed in the same motel we stayed in years ago when we took Stephen and Kaylyn to Eureka Springs. Little did we know years later we’d be back with two completely different kids LOL.

Kaylyn made the homecoming court this year :-). I have lots of pictures from that but will make it an entry of it’s own.

Landon is in first grade now and doing okay, though not up with the rest of his class. For those who don’t know or don’t remember, Landon was diagnosed with Asperger’s a a little over a year ago. He has a full-time aide in his classroom who is there just for him, although she helps with the whole class sometimes. But, if Landon needs her she’s there. He doesn’t take his tests with the rest of the class because it’s too much of a distraction. Also, he takes his tests orally because he has such a hard time with writing. His aide takes him to the library and does all his tests with him. He’s also not required to do as much work as the other kids. An Occupational Therapist comes to the school once a week to work with him. Right now she’s mostly working on his writing. Some days I feel okay about things and some days I want to cry thinking about how behind he is and worrying how he will keep up with his class, or if he even will be able to. I still feel like eventually I will end up homeschooling him. But, for now I’ll leave him where he is. Next year when he moves to second grade his aide will move up with him. If for some reason she doesn’t then I will keep him home. One day at a time, that’s all we can do.

So now, just looking forward to Christmas :-). I have a lot of pictures to share but this is long enough. I really want to do better here. Since I’ve gotten so into Facebook I don’t do much more than that and my two email loops.

More later…

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2009

It’s good to see an update from you, and nice to hear how everyone’s doing. Great pictures, the dog sure has grown a lot in such a small amount of time! : )

December 21, 2009

Glad you updated 🙂 Missed you.

December 21, 2009

I missed you! You should add me on facebook!