Asperger’s…Landon

I just felt like thinking on paper tonight. I’m sitting up late with Stephen enjoying time with him. He’s on his PlayStation 3 and I’m here and he just likes having someone up with him. I’ll stay up as long as he wants me to because these times with him are so rare now that he’s moved out.

The last few days have been very trying with Landon. Some days I think I have him figured out and that I understand Aspergers and what it means. Then I have a day like yesterday and today and I don’t think I know anything. How much of his personality is from his disorder and how much is just him being a kid…a normal six year old boy?? I don’t know. Yesterday he was playing in the back of his daddy’s truck and found a can of florescent orange spray paint and spray painted the top of the truck. The wind was blowing and so there was also paint splatters on the hood and windows :-0. He immediately came inside and told us what he had done but not like he thought he had done wrong. He told us like he was proud of himself. It took Jose’ and I almost an hour to get all that paint off and we were VERY lucky it came off. After we came back in the house with our fingers frozen Jose’was in the bathroom and Landon went to the bathroom door and said, “I’m sorry Daddy, I’m sorry I did that but I was trying to make your truck look like a flower”. ***Big Sigh***

The older kids get aggravated because they say I let him get away with too much, things I would not have put up with when they were his age. They are right but the circumstances are so different. Do they forget he’s not like them…not the same as they were at their age?? How many times do I have to remind them of this? I choose my battles with Landon because if I didn’t the battle would start when he got up every morning and not end until he went to bed. Some of his little quirks I just deal with. I know when he asks me a question and I answer he’s going to ask me two more times, always. I answer him all three times every time he does it because he needs me to. I know when he’s watching t.v. he’s going to rewind and rewatch one part of the show over and over and over and over and that’s okay with me. But, when anyone else is around of course it drives them crazy and they holler at him to stop. I know he’s OCD and things have to be a certain way and I understand that because I am also OCD. I don’t call attention to the things he does and when he seems upset about it I reassure him it’s okay that he’s like that, I am too. I know when he does certain things it’s a sign that he’s had enough or that he’s overwhelmed and it’s time to back off. I wish everyone knew him like I do. I wish everyone else in his life could just let the little things go and not get so aggravated with him.

Landon is not just dealing with Aspergers. He also has anxiety issues, ADHD and OCD. No child should have to deal with that much every day. Some days he walks around saying I hate myself, I hate myself :-(. That makes me so sad!! He does that mostly when he’s very aggitated about something. I think he’s gotten to the age that he knows he’s not like the other kids. I worry so much about him getting older. I wish I could just keep him six years old so I could always protect him.

I know I’m rambling here. Like I said, just wanted to think on paper. I know God has a special purpose for Landon. I know he’s the way he is for a reason. I know the road ahead is going to be hard but I also know how much joy he brings to me every single day. He makes me laugh out loud at least once a day, every day. He loves me and he makes me feel special.

photobucket

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2009

he’s a special little boy. and kids like him are not going to understand his differences. and yeah, growing up for him will be hard. but you’re doing all you can to help him.. even overlooking the little things. aspergers is hard to deal with by itself, but when you have those other issues on top of it, it makes so much worse for him. i think at that age they DO learn sense of self. and that they’re alike or different from people their age. it’s normal. is he on any medication to help him out a little bit?

December 20, 2009

ryn: you helped me more than just a little bit. you helped me more than you will probably ever know. probably because there aren’t words enough inside me to express what you’ve done. you may feel they were small things you did to help me. but to me, they were huge things. you helped me get right. and i’ll thank you every day of my life for that. the love I feel inside for you for what you done.. the gratitude that i just don’t know how to express.. cannot be contained or measured by mere words. God put you in my life for a reason. 🙂 to help me get back to Him. 🙂 even when I didn’t know i was so lost.

December 20, 2009

ryn: i’m glad his meds are helping him. he’s such a sweet boy. i wish his life didn’t have to be so rough to start out, but i think that he’ll end up making the most of things in the long run. 🙂

December 21, 2009

So sorry to hear about Landon. The poor little guy has it rough. I’ll remember him (and you) in my prayers.

December 21, 2009

Wish I had known you were in Eureka Springs! You were so close I would have driven over to meet you! I am looking forward to Landon’s and Bailey’s birthdays this year. I will never forget being pregnant together. I was online with you the night I was in labor. LoL Landon is special. He was special from the beginning and God has something great in store for him. =))

December 23, 2009

You sound just like my friend that also has a little boy with aspergers. I wish I had the answer, but just know you aren’t alone. ((HUGS))

February 20, 2010

RYN: Thanks for the note. I understand exactly how you are feeling. Both my children have the anxiety disorders and the OCD (my oldest is by far worse on the OCD). He doesn’t walk around saying “I hate myself” but I think because he doesn’t know what that means. But when he gets frustrated or upset, he smacks his head, over and over again.