I didn’t know about online journaling until yesterday.

I knew that people kept blogs, but they’ve always seemed so curated to me. Social media makes me sick. Then I found OpenDiary. Everything I read was so much more…intimate. I found a woman’s journal that brought me to tears; it deserves to be published. I related to her so deeply, something I haven’t been able to say about the internet for a long time. It made me remember old dreams…writing in coffee shops, poems, smoke, living in the city. Things that sound so typical when I say them but which, in my childhood heart, really meant something. For a long time now I’ve been run by my fears (fears I can’t even place). They make me feel guilty for chasing dreams. If this is a part of growing up, then so be it–but I’m graduating university next year, and I can’t let it follow me into the rest of my life. If not now, when?

So, I’m going to start journaling here. It’s a small thing and already it feels selfish, when there is so much wrong in the world. But I know that the alternative for me would be numbing my senses until nothing mattered, or living a life that wasn’t mine. Maybe it’s selfish, but I want a life that’s mine. Consciously mine. I want to do good things from a place of truth. And I can’t do that unless I know who i am. Explore it for whatever it’s worth.

I’m thinking of a song by Mogwai. Take Me Somewhere Nice. It’s such a sad song in many ways but it’s also so beautiful. It feels like coming home right now. Listening to it as I type. So, not sure how this will go, or if I’ll keep writing here. My friend C makes me want to. She is still trying to be something beautiful despite her fear. I hope she knows I love her.

Log in to write a note
June 9, 2020

I’m impressed by your desire to write a diary.  Please let me, as a retired teacher, share the following:
“How do I know what I think until I see what I say?” ― E.M. Forster tags:
advice, e-m-forster, essay, fiction, writing

You are on the right path.  I’ve kept a diary since I was 11 and had a long life.  I don’t know what I would have done without having those pages to keep connected to what I really had to say.

My best.

June 10, 2020

@sago Love that quote :). I hope that I’m still writing a long time from now…I definitely cherish the diaries I do have. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, it means a lot and I look forward to writing more here🌸

June 9, 2020

Welcome! I’m so glad you’re here going through this process of self discovery. I hope you are able to find what you are looking for–you already have what you need to do this. 🙂

June 10, 2020

@thecriticsdarling I actually saw some of your entries before making an account! You write so beautifully, it definitely inspired me to give this a shot myself. Thank you for the well wishes and taking the time to comment 🙂

June 10, 2020

@hazeltree aww you are so sweet to say that! Thank you. I can’t wait to read more of your writing here.

I have been here since 2000-bc of the community. Despite a few occasional hiccups, it’s uber supportive place to process life events and grow as both a writer/human. I hope you find it equally as helpful.

June 9, 2020

Welcome to OD. I would like to say that this is a close-knit community. Although it does have a few snags in the knitting.  But hey! No community is perfect after all.  We do look after each other for the most part. Although, with a busy schedule, it’s hard to be here to show support, every time it is needed.  But then again, no one really expects that.

June 10, 2020

@socialstephen I can tell you’re right about OD being close-knit–it’s wild and encouraging to get responses so soon after posting something! I hope I can return the support you all are already showing me 🌳

June 11, 2020

Welcome. Open Diary is an amazing and special place. I hope you find what you need here.

June 13, 2020

Welcome. I’m so glad you joined. 🙂