What is the worst thing anyone has ever said to you?

What is the worst thing someone has said to you?

 

For me, it was last summer when I was in the worst part of my eating disorder and the guy who I was seeing at the time told me “you look good now, but you could be perfect.” He also told me that I was very difficult to love. It’s been almost a year and I still think about that everyday.

Log in to write a note
March 21, 2022

My first wife, in the most emasculating way ever:

“You’ve never once made me…” (get over the finish line).  Which was contradictory to what she’d said years before so either way it was extremely mean-spirited.  But no matter which one was the truth and which one was the lie, it was still the absolute deepest cut I’ve ever received.

March 21, 2022

My ex, after 7 years of being together and me taking care of his abusive alcoholic ass told me that I forced him into a relationship he didn’t want. We didn’t live together at the time, we didn’t have children together, so we were not legally tied to one another, so I countered with: “Well, I have been FORCED to be your caretaker and have given up everything and everyone I love to do so. You are a big boy and have a big boy voice- if you felt forced to be with me, you could’ve used your words a million times in seven years to say so.”

There were many things he said to hurt me, but the last straw came after I was sexually harassed while on a work trip. He said I deserved to be harassed and even assaulted because I had pink hair and large breasts. I cut him out and left that day. Best decision ever.

March 21, 2022

After revealing years of devastating sexual abuse at the hands of a family member (who “shared” me with his friend) to my mother- she said if I had wanted it to stop I would’ve told her sooner.  Absolutely gutted me.

I’m sorry that person said that to you.  It was more about him getting to control you than any truth.  “If I tell her she is difficult to love, she will think she can’t find anyone else and she will stay.” What an insecure jerk.   I hope you are able to find ways to use that shit to fuel you towards good things for yourself.