And the facts…

Well, to keep my poor diary up to date, a lot has been going on.  My son went to the Men’s Convention where my brother met him and was his room mate.  They had a wonderful time.  They didn’t go to any of the workshops but they went to all of the services.  On Friday they toured St. Louis and went up in the arch as well as toured the Anheiser Busch factory.  They called me from there to see if I would allow him to have a sip of beer (which I did).  I had to chuckle and point out that was not exactly what I expected on spiritual retreat!

On Saturday they went to Six Flags over St. Louis.  My son is a roller coaster fanatic so he was delighted.  He rode every single coaster, one or two of them he rode twice!  Never the less, God seems to have touched my son because he has been talking about being blessed and having received a fresh anointing.  At first I thought he was putting me on, but then I realized he was sincere.  I told him I had prayed that he would receive a revival and he said, “That’s the way to reach me… not on my cell phone, but you can reach me through prayer.”  Hmmm… now WHO is going to be doing a trial sermon??? 🙂

While he was gone, my husband and I had a revival as well… we had a revival of our love for each other and got to spend so much time together.  We did things like we used to do when the girls were teenagers before my son was born.  We went to the movies (Supersize this… it was GREAT!) and the book store.  We wandered downtown going into a comic store and a used CD store.  We watched a couple of rental movies and ate in the living room.  I fixed fruit salad for us and yummy gourmet stuff.  And we had a lot of sex… well, at least for us a lot of sex.  At 51 my hormones are not as demanding as they have been in the past and I don’t always have much libido at all let alone an active one.  But, without the stress and interuption of regular life, my interest seemed to peak.  If we won the lottery and didn’t ever have to work again, we might have a lot more sex LOL.  It was so great to spend time together that was unhampered by anything!  He had taken off Friday and rested in the morning.  I worked until about noon.  We had all of Saturday together because Ministry Track was cancelled.  I had to work early this morning and I stayed for the 11:00 service (he didn’t go to church… fallout from all that is going on there).  Even so, we had several hours today and did the wild thing 😉 then went swimming, went to the library, out for an ice cream cone then a Starbucks and sipped it sitting at an outdoor table. 

What a wonderful week-end it’s been!  And my son is so full of the spirit and so cleaned up that it is delightful to have him back (at least for now — I’m sure the fighting will resume in the morning LOL).

Last, but not least, my daughter that lives here has been talking to my daughter in Georgia and they’ve decided that it would be a financial blessing for their families to live together.  They both realize that there is much potential for them to drive each other crazy, but they’re willing to try it.  It’ll have to be a 3 bedroom place with at least 1 and 1/2 bathrooms.  They would also like a yard since there will be three dogs! But I think they’re being very smart and even if they can only stand it for a year, financially it is a great decision.  I told them that people did that kind of thing often back in depression and pre-depression days.  Many people lived with their parents and/or families.  It was a good way to pool resources.  And it will be good for my granddaughter and good for both of my daughters.  I know I’m going to hear it from them as they step on each others’ toes, but I think it will work out for awhile at least.

Log in to write a note

Nothing to say, but I enjoyed hearing about your family life.

June 6, 2004

Our son is also a roller coaster fanatic. So glad you had such a nice weekend with your husband. Once in awhile us “old folks” can get frisky too…lol! Thanks for the sweet notes. 🙂