–a survey!

 The OD Survey

(Stolen from Carrie)

 

What does your online diary name mean, and why did you pick it? Well, it’s my name.

When did you first get an online diary? 2004. I have literally 15-20 paper diaries I filled up through my teen years.

How did you find OpenDiary.com? Through a friend and coworker, Jameson, who no longer writes here.

Why did you start an online diary? I had just ended an engagement and was feeling pretty crappy about myself. I needed somewhere to let out some steam.

When writing an entry, do you believe you are writing for you or the reader? Most times, I write for myself. I love documenting things in one place so it is easy to go through. I will admit though that I feel guilty to my faves when I don’t update for awhile, and will sometimes post just to let everyone know I’m still here.

When writing an entry, are you completely honest? In public or friends-only entries, no. I don’t lie, but I do leave out stuff that I don’t feel everyone needs to know. I write a lot of private entries for my own sanity and am completely honest in those.

Describe your writing setting.  Most often on my couch in our living room.

Is anyone that you know (in real life) allowed to read your diary? Not anyone that I see on a regular basis, no.

Do you know anyone in real life with a diary, which you are allowed to read? I used to but not anymore.

Has anyone found your diary that you really didn’t want to find it? Yes.

Do you believe writing in your online diary is therapeutic? Absolutely. I wouldn’t be here still if it wasn’t.

How many entries do you have? 1,187.

Do you have any entries that are private? Yes.

If you answered yes to that, (without getting too personal), why don’t you want people to see them? Because stuff changes – I change – and what I want revealed to people changes. I often go back and make older entries private. There are some that are always private, stuff that I’m not comfortable sharing with everyone.

How many favorites do you have? 44 that are allowed to read, 19 that I follow.

Do you know who your first favorite was? Who on your faves list has been on it the longest? Well, my very first was Jameson who is no longer here. Then came Lauren (who was Jameson’s best friend). She no longer writes here either, but MANY of my current friends were shared with or found through Lauren. And Lucy!

Which of your faves is most similar to you? Why? Probably Garri. We are soulmates, afterall.

Which of your faves is most different from you? Why? Lucy, but only because she lives in England. 🙂

Your entire faves list has updated – whose entry do you go and read first? Second? Third? Fourth? And fifth? Any particular reason? I just go in order, top to bottom. Unless someone’s title captivates me. Sidenote: It would be totally overwhelming and positively thrilling if my entire list updated at the same time!

Who is your newest fave? I don’t know. I’ve had the same core group of people for a long time. Probably eglantines. Though I haven’t made much of an effort to note or connect. I enjoy reading her entries.

If you could meet any of your favs in real life (and you knew for sure they weren’t an ax murderer), who would you pick and why? Darn near all of them. Especially Garri and Lucy, since I feel like we would get along superbly, but also Hillary, Ashley, and Jen.

Do you talk to your favs online? A handful of them are on facebook.

Have you ever written an entry while too intoxicated?

 honestly don’t know. Not recently, for sure.

Do you feel accepted by the diary community? Yep.

Have you secretly fell in love (or had a crush on) a diarist? Nope

Have you ever read an entry that really moved you? Has anyone written anything that made you cry? Yes. A good and bad thing about feeling so connected to my faves is that when triumph or tragedy strikes them, I feel it too.

What are your favorite kinds of entries to read? Honest updates about what is going on in their lives

After writing an entry, how long do you wait to see if you have notes? I usually check in here once a day to read people, and I’ll check my notes then.

If you don’t have notes, do you feel let down? No – I don’t leave a lot, so I don’t expect to get a lot, and I’m perfectly fine with that.

How many notes do you usually get? 10 or so

Did you know the more notes you leave, the more notes you get? See above

Do you delete mean or nasty notes? Usually, though I’ve only had one or two

Have you ever left a nasty note and not signed your name? Never!

Have you ever left a note on a person’s diary, just to make them feel better? Yes.

Do you keep a paper copy of your online diary? No, I really should though!

Do you go back and reread your past entries? Absolutely! What’s the point of keep this diary if you don’t go back through it occasionally?

 

Log in to write a note

ooo, i think i might follow your lead on this. 🙂

March 5, 2010

Maybe I will do this one 🙂

March 7, 2010

I love you, soulmate. 🙂

oh hello, you do read still! I was afraid you were gone. xo