But I’m not color blind

Before you read this, DISCLAIMER: I am not color blind in the fact I don’t see the racial discrimination, the hurt, the torture. I’m color blind because when I see a human being I see their ethics, integrity and they’re love not the color of the skin. I’m on your side. ❤️


I’m white. I’m from upstate New York. Where I have African American friends say “I assume if it’s a prominently white town, they’re probably racist.” But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

I was privileged to grow up and not see racism. I was blessed to be raised to not see color. To judge based on character and character. But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

George Floyd is a person. An person who deserved to live more then 46 years. Crime is crime, but death is the end. But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

I back my blue. I back the State Troopers, Sheriffs, Local PD, Correctional Officers and the others serving and protecting. But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

I despise murderers, rapists, pedophiles, crooked cops, crooked bankers. I hate people that use others as if they were disposable. But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

I hate that I need to be concerned about my family in bigger cities because of these peaceful protests that have turned to outraged riots. But I don’t see color, but I’m not color blind.

What do I see? The fear is people’s eyes talking about what is going on. I hear the hurt in people’s voices talking about racism. I see the hundreds of Facebook posts says “Fuck the Police” and I fear for my friends. I see the hundreds of Facebook posts saying Mr. Floyd got what he deserved and I fear for those people due their own ignorance.

Anger is futile in this battle.

I may not understand what some people are feeling, thinking or going through but I see you, as a human being. But I don’t see color and I’m here as an ally for all. But, I am not color blind.

Log in to write a note

I am the colors of the rainbow. Not black nor white. Just rainbow-y. And no. I am straight too.

December 30, 2020

Hi, I’m from upstate NY, too.

I respect you wanting to write about such an important topic on here! You’ve given us all a lot to think about… And I did think about the topic a lot after reading it & my thoughts on how we see races.

I agree that a person’s value should be based on character, not on color… I definitely agree with the crux of your argument. However, I think where we differ is that I guess I look at it as such: if we don’t talk about differences in race, it makes it harder to see different elements of culture that different communities of people bring to the table. Diversity is important and I want to celebrate it, rather than pretend it doesn’t exist. Acknowledging there are differences between racial identities and cultures doesn’t have to mean putting lesser values on these non-white cultures… It just means we are all contributing different things and I think it’s important to appreciate the differences.

I think it’s important for us to acknowledge the inequities as well… By saying we don’t see color, it can lead some (not saying you specifically–moreso, people in my own life) to close their eyes to negative experiences that people in the black community are having. “But we’re all the same!” Right  We are all humans who deserve to be treated with kindness and respect, regardless of color–but the truth is not everyone is treated that way.. of we don’t acknowledge that difference, we can’t fix it.

Glad you’re here! Look forward to reading more from you. 🙂

December 30, 2020

Also to clarify: I am just sharing what your entry made me think about on the topic, those thoughts are merely my “hot take” if you will… In no way, am I saying you are wrong for how you feel or that you do NOT appreciate diversity. Sorry. I should have explained that better in my initial note.