‘I’ll be/Building a House/That You May/Never See’

Strolling past the 5 yo’s bedroom<begsroom> I lock eyes with
.                                                                                                             ;Fight Nicely!;
.                                                                                                              scrawled a foot tall across the wall and furiously underlined.

‘If it’s time that you want
If it’s space that you need
Then darlin’
Go find it
That’s all right 
By me’

And it occurs to me<as seems to happen a lot lately> that we barely even have to tell them not to fight anymore. Much less try to referee the level of complete violence we were last year. It’s been at least six months since anyone had to wrangle with V about brushing her hair. No one’s put their terrible little feet on a counter in months. There is only rarely screaming about bedtime these days.

‘I’ll be
Building a house

That you may
Never see

I’ll be working
My hands 
To the bone
I’ll be working
My hands
To the bone’

I should more closely remember these points while lamenting that 5 yo is still constantly shitting his pants and being a dick about it. When we’re screaming about not wanting to go to school. When there is a Cocoa Incident<honestly? this one was on the Adult Council>. When I am being berated about charging cables or videogames. When I walk into the kitchen to find a child with their face in the Ovaltine bucket<whomst amongst us, really>.

‘Just know that you have
The respect you deserve

As you whisper
That I’d be
All right
And that I needed
To learn 
How to fight’

I am doing too many feral housethwifings for a day I’m supposed to be taking easy. I did take all three of my pills this morning, having skipped the speed for most of the week so far. But I’ll be gone this weekend, and if I don’t housethwife a bit someone else will have to and that doesn’t seem right. Especially given the chronic towel shortage in these parts it’s a good idea to at least fold some rectangles and wash some dishes and make sure all the fuck accessories are fresh.

‘So whenever
You come back
From wherever
You roam
I’ll be 
Building a house
That just might be
Our home
I’ll be working
My hands
To the bone
I’ll be working
My hands
To the bone

If I can write
Enough songs

I can win back
The time
And the things
I’ve done wrong
And you’ll hear one
One day and
You’ll admit you belong
Here with me
In this house that I’ve made’
– Besides Daniel

Log in to write a note