Uncertainties…

I’m struggling today. I finally told my sister after weeks i’d doing this on my own. He’s had his family basically across the street this whole time.

He and I had made plans to go for a walk tonight when I got off work. I don’t know if he’ll still want to. I’m half expecting him to just drop me back off at home with thinking twice about it.

I only want to be happy.

Someone said that what’s going on, the saying i’m making him feel guilty, the quick to anger, the turning what I ask (30 mins no phone) into everything ive done wrong, that all this is a form of abuse.  Is it?

Log in to write a note
April 17, 2020

It 100% sounds like you’re in an emotionally abusive relationship and he’s been laying that groundwork for a long time.

Please get rid of him. Being alone is better for you than being treated like this.

April 17, 2020

@hopeclimbs i’m stuck in this lease till fall. I don’t have a car. My sister said that I should insist he still pay for rent, half, til the lease is up and for him to help me get a car.

April 17, 2020

@icanonlyimag1ne He hasn’t been paying rent?? I’m about to come get you and get you out of there myself lmao.

Your sister’s right. I agree with her completely. Please keep reaching out as much as you can, here and IRL, too. A big part of how emotional abuse takes root is through isolation and it sounds like you’ve been pretty cut off from outside opinions and reactions that could help you keep a grip on what’s healthy and what isn’t. Keep your connections strong and open as much as possible, is my advice.

April 17, 2020

@hopeclimbs I’m trying. Every day is a struggle.

kat
April 17, 2020

if a man truly loved you and respected you he would never act like this over something so petty. can you imagine how he would react if you REALLY did something to piss him off. I have no time for selfish men like that