Don’t call it a comeback

I am not too sure about this place yet.  I have questions. I’m wondering how many of my old favorites are here but I don’t know how to search them.  Help me friends!  I probably wouldn’t have ever realized OD was back in existence if not for a text I received yesterday on my way to the gym. So..thanks for the heads up D!

We are going to Reno for four days over Superbowl weekend.  Six of us.  We are going to some private party at The Peppermill. I’m going to try to control myself on the gambling but I must confess that after I hit $2200 on a $20 bet in Vegas a year ago, I have spent at least that trying to repeat.

Kyle is coming for lunch tomorrow. Kyle is my 29 year old son. TwentyNINE!  That seems so impossible when I say it out loud.  I would’ve had ten kids if they could’ve all been like Kyle.  He is adorable, funny, responsible, generous, humble, successful and kind.  He works for CAL FIRE so I don’t see much of him during Fire season.  Especially this year.  This was the first year that he wasn’t with me for Thanksgiving, his birthday or Christmas and it was kind of sad.  He’s single with no steady girlfriend at the moment so although I am technically old enough to be a grandmother, I am not one yet. Although, my Boyfriend’s son and his wife are expecting so I guess I will kind of be one by proxy next Summer.

My “boyfriend”, sounds so funny to say. His name is Manny and we’ve known one another for 35 years!  We dated when I was 16 and he was 19 and he broke my heart but we always stayed close. In fact, he introduced me to Kyle’s Dad so technically there would be no Kyle without Manny.   Funny how life works.  We would get together once or twice a year for lunch or dinner and there may or may not have been innocent flirting but it was always very platonic.  Then, in Nov 2012, we met for dinner, had a fantastic time and when I drove away, I couldn’t stop thinking about him.  Turns out the feeling was mutual and that was it.  I have never been happier or more in love.  People always assume we are married and we may get married one day. We discuss it but I don’t feel an urgency.  It’s perfect right now.   If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2018

I have been trying to find a search option as well.

January 30, 2018

Have fun in Vegas! Go home with money!!

January 30, 2018

@wyocowgirl thank you. It’s actually Reno this time!

January 30, 2018

@im3dee …Thanks for the correction, I know you said that but in my mind I had Vegas. Enjoy your trip to Reno!

January 30, 2018

Welcome back! It is tough having a child who is a first responder for sure, but you must be so proud of him!

January 30, 2018

@thediarymaster thank you. I definitely am. 😊

January 30, 2018

I agree – people also assume that I am married (and for simplicity we often say “my husband/my wife) but if it works as is why worry about it?

Welcome back!!

February 1, 2018

Good to see you here! We BOTH have 29 year olds whose birthdays fall in the Thanksgiving – Christmas time period.