Creatures of Habit

I don’t know what made me think of this but when you were growing up, did you eat dinner at the table every night with your family?  If so, did you all always sit in the same spot?  If so, why?

I noticed that I park in the same spot at work every day. If someone is already in my spot, I feel a small twinge of annoyance.  I’m not really sure why. I can easily park in the next spot over but that is MY spot.

In conference meetings, we all usually sit in the same spot.  Manny and I always sleep on the same side of the bed, even in a hotel.  If I don’t sleep on the correct side, something feels “off”.   Why?

Is this only a “me” thing?   What does it mean?

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2018

Maybe we live on the wild side, but my wife and I will alternate which side of the bed we sleep on. And I always vary my seating, as it changes perspective. With parking I try to be consistent, just so I remember where the car is located at the end of the day!

January 31, 2018

We did eat dinner as a family every night until  I was in high school. I’m the youngest so by that time there were 2 in college and 2 in high school and we all had jobs and played sports so family dinner was only on Sunday. We all sat in the same seats. Boys on one side, girls on the other. My Dad at one end my Mom at the other. I kind of miss it.

February 1, 2018

It’s not a “you thing” at all.

February 1, 2018

Rich and I can’t sleep on “the other” side of the bed. Not even in hotels or other new/strange places. If the bed was a car, I sleep on the passenger side.

February 1, 2018

Husband and I always sleep on the same side at a hotel as we do at home.

February 3, 2018

Yes and no. I gravitate to the same parking space, or area to sit, etc but don’t need it to be the exact same.

February 13, 2018

I am suuuuuch a creature of habit! Like ridiculously so. Rich and I always sit in the same spots on the couch. It’s a “thing” to the point that our granddaughter gets confused if I sit in “Poppa Rich’s spot” or he sits in mine. She’ll walk up and say “You move there!” and point to where we’re ‘supposed to be’.