Black

I am sitting at home on a Friday because I do not have school. Why don’t I have school? The power outage caused by an APS worker in Yuma took out power to California, here and Mexico. Woops. I lost power for only two hours and they were at different times. Some people lost their power from 3:30 to almost 10 at night yesterday. I got the call last night that I didn’t have to come in and I felt like it was a snow day. I was literally jumping…for joy. However, it couldn’t come at a worse time. An essay was due today, which means the kids will most certainly not turn it in on Monday because they will say there was an outage and they couldn’t do it on Friday so that makes them probably feel that they don’t have to do it over the weekend, which is certainly untrue. Grades were supposed to be posted for Monday today for the 5 week period. My grades were all done, but I don’t know if there was special way to post them so that the seceratary can pull them, but since no one has to be at school, I guess we just wait. Monday and Tuesday are conferences, short days and state testing on reading. I still have a vocabulary test over the first collection we have done and that was supposed to be today after a review. I don’t know why I care, but I do. Also? I don’t know which collection I am going next. I talked to my sister and I think I will skip around a bit. I am going to enjoy this day off. I already have. I have already gotten to run today and sit in front of Netflix.

I have made two friends here. The thing is I won’t really get to hang out with them when their husbands get back from deployment because of the military B.S that comes with my husband not being allowed to "fraternize" with enlisted men/women. I can hang out with them…just them and I’m sure us all going out to dinner every now and then can’t hurt, especially if no one talks work.

 One girl, who I don’t really consider a friend, invited me to go over to her house tomorrow, however, I don’t feel like hanging out with her husband, her friends and their husbands. Since the husbands are officers, my husband can hang out with them when he gets here, but I don’t even know her very well, much less want to go hang out on base with her and couples. So many commas just occured.

My husband gets here in…16 days, just about. That will be great since I don’t make any money as a teacher and I just got my power bill from the company who employs people who make big mistakes that cause outages, which was 216 dollars and I never even am home during the day and the only thing that makes it cost that much must be the pool because I don’t leave lights on and there is nothing plugged in really AND it is just me here.

Arizona has many good qualities, but this charging more in the summer business isn’t one of them…and always accomadating these old people that come here in the winter pisses me off too…I can’t even stand the phrase snowbirds either.

That’s all. I’m going to enjoy the fact I literally had a three day week of school and next week is short days up until Thursday/Friday…and then…I see my husband soon after that. Things will be better then.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 9, 2011

I was terrified the outage would come our way. Thankfully it didn’t. At least you have a pool you could jump in if it came down to that.

September 16, 2011

cont… and continued my “simple” conversation with him…like about how geography is science…and W. Virginia and Virginia are north of PA…oh and how the civil war happened, and slavery ended in the 1930’s…I was too nice….I could have ripped him a part and made him feel like a retard…but I didn’t…looking back…he needed to be knocked down a few inches…I hate arrogant men! lol