This is your life

What I want to know is this: do parent’s really think the education system is failing when their child doesn’t turn anything in, sits there like a sloth and makes shit up about teachers participating in public humiliation, when actually they are praising when he does something correctly? Some parents will never make sense to me. Conferences were much better with the whole team there, meaning my 8th grade team of teachers which includes me, the science, social studies and science teacher for our "team" of students which is 140 or so kids.

When is it the student’s responsibility? When? When is a due date…not a due date? When is getting a zero okay? This class last year was lazy, I was told, so I guess I shouldn’t be expecting much else, but when a student who does not usually turn stuff in…does…it makes me giddy. The sad things that get me through the day. The weekends go by too bloody fast…and my pay check was a joke, so I went out and spent most of it at Wal-Mart, Target, got my dog groomed and Ross. That is right. I showed them. I think I may have double paid on my credit cards also to make myself feel better.

Whatever…I don’t actually work in education for the money, if you didn’t know. I do like to teach. I do like to work with our youth. This is a true statement. It is what comes sort of naturally.

Tomorrow is eight days until I see my husband. Do you think I might be happy? Yes. Pretty much. 2 months is much too long.

The thought of starting a whole new week of school makes me die.

I should write lesson plans or something. Tomorrow. And? Grade papers probably…with words like gonna and using text speak in final papers…hopefully they can stop that shit at the end of the year. If I read every person’s paper and there isn’t a "gonna", "cuz" "b", "2", "u" in there anymore at the end of the year then I did my job. If they didn’t pass the AIMS but stopped putting gonna in the papers….I’m cool with that. The end.

 

Log in to write a note

Wow.

I am certainly glad you approve. I love the way you write, by the way. I skimmed back through some of your older entries. Your “voice” keeps it interesting.

*laughs* I remind you of someone that caused most of your problems and that’s a compliment? I guess I’ll have to take your word for it.