We burned slowly like the embers of a cigarette

For a transient moment you were mine now we just exist in the same place at the same time but never crossing paths.

I still want you but you’ll never know it. I can’t tell if it’s that whole wanting what you can’t have or just pining after what’s familiar.

I can never tell with you.

I feel like I’m stuck in your headlights ever wondering what it is you’re after, feels like it’s not me.

I feel vulnerable sharing my ever-changing form with you and it makes me want to disappear. Dissolve this feeling in my tears and sink into the nothingness.

I feel a lot of dread. I feel like, fuck, I feel like I’m not enough and you know what? Oh well. I’m not gonna let myself feel that way.

But I kinda wanna let it fade away because maybe it’s not me you were meant to meet…. maybe I was, I don’t think I’ve served my full purpose in your life yet.

These all too consuming thoughts, you’ve got my attentive curiosity. And my intuition is telling me I might disappoint you and it was right.

I’m trying so hard not to take it all too personally because we’re drifting away but I can’t deny you’ve sparked something inside of me.

It’s too soon to tell and I am always so quick to boil over my tender heart.

I can’t say for sure your place in my life, another unsuspecting lesson perhaps. Whatever the case I was growing fond of your existence in my life but you’ve left as quickly as you came.

I’d say I’m sorry for not fitting your certain expectations but I’m not. You tell me I’m a good woman with good qualities and yet you don’t want any of it. You ask for my time and friendship but I’m not sure I can give you that.

I just want my revenge, I just want to show you that I slipped through your fingers. I’ll be around, I’ll unfold myself to reveal the beauty you cannot see.

Log in to write a note