Log in to write a note
April 9, 2018

We chose not to re-launch as a free site for a lot of reasons – but part of it is that free blogging sites have struggled or failed in the past (including this one) and we want to stay around for the long run – and also, when sites are using advertising to pay their bills, it is inevitable that that advertising is collecting information on your activity and things you do on that site, and we didn’t want that for our members.

If you feel you need a free site that’s fine and understandable, there’s more information here if you’re interested:

Why OD is a subscription site

kat
April 9, 2018

it is a very reasonable price. the cost of a Starbucks once a month less than a dollar a day I feel I have already gotten my moneys worth just reading a few of my old faves

April 9, 2018

Well though shocking it’s to keep you safe. Well everyone safe. It helps support the site without ads or selling our personal info, and well people are less likely to pay money to creep on other people’s diaries. Over all I think it means the site is being taken seriously and will stick around this time as well as grow and develop. The Diary Master has been updating with all sorts of new changes that excite me 🙂

Prosebox is a lot like OD and it’s under new management recently with the promise to get much better. It’s free. I can give you a list of other sites as well but they aren’t like OD. I can give you those if you like 🙂 I know payment isn’t always preferable, or affordable whichever.

M
April 9, 2018

Prosebox is free (for now).