One of the more difficult days

huh.. you can back date entries.  This will be fun exploring all the 6.0 changes.

I should back date this as it’s about yesterday.

Though one of the longest ever, it went by so fast.

My 78 year old mother had serious heart surgery yesterday.  6 surgeons, Pre-Op started at 7:00 am and she was up to ICU by 6:30 pm.  They laproscopically went through her neck and moved 2 of the major arteries coming out of the top of her heart, bypassed and stented and generally worked miracles to quell the major anuerysm the size of lemon at the arch of one those arteries.

My father was wrecked by the time we could see her again in ICU.  So far she is doing well.  My sister is here, thank God.  My father flew her here.  I had to note that as it means so much.  I grieve the loss of my other sister for him.

I have to repeat what your father said Cat.  "Growing old ain’t for sissies".

I’m working in a skilled nursing facility which generally includes end of life illnesses for the very old, and some not so old.  Although I’m only 48 now, I’m finding that life really is fragile.

I’m grateful I didn’t lose my mommy yesterday.

 

Log in to write a note

I’m grateful for you too. So sorry for your worry!

February 24, 2009

I’m grateful too! Hugs,

I’m so glad she came through. I can just imagine how stressful it has been for all of you, but especially your dad. And you’re right… life is fragile.

February 24, 2009

I’m glad she made it through the surgery successfully. You and your family are in my thoughts, D.

February 24, 2009

Wow. That sounds like pretty intense surgery. I hope she recovers quickly.

February 24, 2009
February 25, 2009

I’m glad the surgery went well. I will be praying for a speedy recovery.

My dad says, “Growing old sucks…but it beats the alternative.”

MRS
February 25, 2009

Prayers for you and your mom

March 4, 2009

ryn: It’s not that I don’t LIKE Paula….but c’mon. You gotta admit that sometimes it seems that she’s three sheets to the wind. 🙂

RYN. I don’t know myself whether I’m ready for romance or not. I guess I am, but on my terms – and I’m not even sure what those terms are! But I do know I’m ready to dip my toe in the water and see what happens. I think the reason I feel like 45 minutes (and we’re talking about 45 minutes best case scenario — Auburn and Arlington, from Kirkland) is too far, is because the lifestyle I want is someone who lives in the area and can meet me after work for dinner, or for lunch… someone who shares the “working in Seattle or suburb” lifestyle that I have. But I do know I need to be more open than that or I’m never going to find my happiness! I think my ideal comes from the fact that I was married to a guy who was overseas for 3-4 months at a time, then home and not working until he went overseas again. I sooo wanted a lifestyle where someone worked Mon-Fri like I did, who understood what my day was like. Obviously someone doesn’t have to live within 15 minutes of me to be able to do that and I need to acknowledge that.

April 22, 2009

I hope theres been positive change since you wrote this entry….I’m a little behind in reading (and writing) in od.